Media Centre

Canterbury Diocese elects six representatives to serve on the Crown Nominations Commission

Following a vote by members of Canterbury Diocese's Vacancy-in-See Committee, six representatives have been elected to serve on the Crown Nominations Commission, the body responsible for the appointment of the next Archbishop of Canterbury.

The vote took place during the second meeting of the Vacancy-in-See Committee held in Canterbury on Thursday 3 May. Twenty-one members were present to vote and duly elected the following representatives:

The Reverend Canon Clare Edwards
Mr Raymond Harris
Mr David Kemp
The Reverend Canon Mark Roberts
Mrs Caroline Spencer
The Right Reverend Trevor Willmott

The six representatives will serve on the Crown Nominations Commission, which will also include two bishops from the Church of England, an Archbishop from the Anglican Communion and six members of General Synod. Chaired by the Rt Hon the Lord Luce KG, GCVO, the group will meet over the summer to consider representations made through consultations in Canterbury, England and overseas before submitting the name of a preferred candidate to the Prime Minster.

The election of Canterbury Diocese's representatives follows the creation of a 'Statement of Need' by the Vacancy-in-See Committee. Canterbury Diocese also held two days of public consultations and an open meeting which were all attended by the Archbishops' Secretary for Appointments and the Prime Minister's Appointments' Secretary. Comments made through the consultations will contribute to a memorandum for consideration by the Crown Nominations Commission.

For more details, visit the website of the Diocese of Canterbury