Media Centre

Daily Media Briefing: Friday 28 September

Good Morning from the Church of England Communications Office 

Feria
Tomorrow: Michael and All Angels

Dioceses Commission announces draft scheme
At its meeting on 26 September the Commission was able to complete its consideration of all the submissions made to it on the draft Reorganisation Scheme for the dioceses of Bradford, Ripon & Leeds and Wakefield.  It carefully considered the representations made to it, both at this stage and earlier, and has unanimously decided to proceed with a draft scheme bringing all three dioceses together. http://www.churchofengland.org/media-centre/news/2012/09/dioceses-commission-announces-draft-scheme.aspx

NEWS FROM THE OFFICE OF THE ARCHBISHOP OF YORK
Fairness Commission Calls For Living Wage As Report Published
The York Fairness Commission today (Thursday 27th September) has published its report on tackling inequality, poverty and unfairness in York. For further information, see end of briefing or go to: http://www.archbishopofyork.org/articles.php/2625/fairness-commission-calls-for-living-wage-as-report-published

Today's press coverage
Times (T2) p3
Richard Morrison on "Pray for an anointed PR firm" with ref to selection of new Archbishop of Canterbury
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/opinion/columnists/richardmorrison/

Evening Standard p23/BBC online/Daily Mail p10/Telegraph p5,Leader p27/Independent p5
News reports on Ed Miliband's support for same sex marriages in church
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-19743629
http://www.standard.co.uk/news/politics/miliband-ready-to-impose-threeline-whip-to-back-gay-marriage-8181725.html?origin=internalSearch
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2209670/Gay-couples-allowed-marry-church-says-Miliband-Government-proposals.html
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/ed-miliband/9570435/Ed-Miliband-announces-support-for-gay-marriage-in-church.html
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/telegraph-view/9570884/Milibands-mischief.html
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/let-churches-stage-samesex-weddings-says-ed-miliband-8182659.html?origin=internalSearch

Daily Telegraph p1/Mirror p4/Daily Mail p7
Ongoing coverage of missing schoolgirl Megan Stammers with ref to the CofE school she attends
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/education/educationnews/9572440/Teachers-suspected-of-abuse-given-anonymity.html

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/governors-at-megan-stammers-school-did-not-1347712
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2208315/Megan-Stammers-missing-Jeremy-Forrests-anguished-parents-plead-make-contact.html

Letters
Times p35
"Church leadership in a time of change" with ref to CNC, from various
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/opinion/letters/article3551553.ece

Daily Telegraph p27 (scroll down)
"Mrs Canterbury" from Gillian Graham Dobson, Norfolk
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/letters/9571932/Nick-Cleggs-unrealistic-ideas-about-extracting-money-from-pensioners.html

Ends 
Newspaper Web links with most or all stories -
Daily Mail              http://www.dailymail.co.uk/

Daily Mirror           http://www.mirror.co.uk

FT                         http://www.ft.com

Guardian               http://guardian.co.uk

Independent titles http://www.independent.co.uk

Observer               http://www.observer.co.uk

People                             http://www.people.co.uk

Sun                       http://www.the-sun.co.uk

Sunday Mirror       http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk

Sunday Times        http://www.sunday-times.co.uk

Telegraph titles     http://www.telegraph.co.uk

Times                    http://www.thetimes.co.uk

 

With some stories

Daily Express        http://www.express.co.uk

Daily Star              http://www.dailystar.co.uk

Ev Standard           http://www.standard.co.uk

 

Church press

Baptist Times        http://www.baptist.org.uk/btnews.htm

Catholic Herald     http://www.catholicherald.co.uk

CEN                      http://www.churchnewspaper.com

Church Times        http://www.churchtimes.co.uk/front.asp

Methodist Recorder         http://www.methodistrecorder.co.uk/index.htm

Tablet                    http://www.thetablet.co.uk

 

Other links

Ananova                http://www.ananova.com

BBC                      http://bbc.co.uk

Channel 4             http://www.channel4.com

Private Eye            http://www.private-eye.co.uk

Reuters                 http://www.reuters.co.uk