Media Centre

Daily Media Briefing for Friday October 26

Good Morning from the Church of England Communications Office

Alfred, king, scholar, 899
Cedd, abbot, bishop, 664
Tomorrow: Feria

1.  PRESS RELEASE FROM LAMBETH PALACE

Women Bishops: Enough Waiting - Bishop of Willesden's Message to General Synod
In a video message about the legislation for women bishops, the Bishop of Willesden, the Rt Revd Pete Broadbent, urges those thinking of voting against the legislation to think again as 'there is now in the Measure sufficient provision for those who are against, and there's a real sense in which what we are doing is affirming women on equal terms with men'. Bishop Pete assures those who are in favour of the legislation but worried about provisions that the House of Bishops will deliver a Code of Practice that will 'work for those who are opposed' and urges synod members to vote in favour and achieve the two thirds majority needed.
The video can be viewed here:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Liyl_d3jMB8
For the transcript, go to : http://www.archbishopofcanterbury.org/articles.php/2661/women-bishops-enough-waiting-the-bishop-of-willesdens-message-to-general-synod

2.  Today's press coverage
Daily Mail p24
Quentin Letts on "Yesterday in Parliament" with ref to Church Commissioners questions
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-2223277/Quentin-Letts-That-Richard-III--e-electoral-roll-York.html

Times p3 (Bricks and Mortar)
News report "An ancient repair bill" with ref to Chancel Repair Liability
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/life/property/article3579214.ece

Guardian p5 (G2)
"The world is against the Christian man" concludes singer (Brandon Flower) after debate with Richard Dawkins
http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2012/oct/25/brandon-flowers-world-against-christian-man?INTCMP=SRCH

Daily Telegraph p31
Comment from Prue Leith "Why did my brother die in agony?" with ref law against assisted suicide http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthnews/9633356/Prue-Leith-asks-Why-did-my-brother-die-in-agony.html

Sun p27 (no link)
News report "Ban Mr & Mrs!" with ref to plans by Brighton and Hove Council

Daily Star p22/Sun p38 (no links)
News reports "Church in kids' sweets uproar" with ref to Freedom Church in Hereford handing out sweets at school gates

Ends

Newspaper Web links with most or all stories -


Daily Mail  http://www.dailymail.co.uk/
Daily Mirror  http://www.mirror.co.uk
FT   http://www.ft.com
Guardian  http://guardian.co.uk
Independent titles http://www.independent.co.uk
Observer  http://www.observer.co.uk
People   http://www.people.co.uk
Sun   http://www.the-sun.co.uk
Sunday Mirror http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk
Sunday Times http://www.sunday-times.co.uk
Telegraph titles http://www.telegraph.co.uk
Times   http://www.thetimes.co.uk

With some stories
Daily Express http://www.express.co.uk
Daily Star  http://www.dailystar.co.uk
Ev Standard  http://www.standard.co.uk

Church press
Baptist Times http://www.baptist.org.uk/btnews.htm
Catholic Herald http://www.catholicherald.co.uk
CEN   http://www.churchnewspaper.com
Church Times http://www.churchtimes.co.uk/front.asp
Methodist Recorder http://www.methodistrecorder.co.uk/index.htm
Tablet   http://www.thetablet.co.uk

Other links
Ananova  http://www.ananova.com
BBC   http://bbc.co.uk
Channel 4  http://www.channel4.com
Private Eye  http://www.private-eye.co.uk
Reuters  http://www.reuters.co.uk


Press release from Lambeth Palace

Thursday 25th October 2012

Women Bishops: Enough Waiting - Bishop of Willesden's Message to General Synod

In a video message about the legislation for women bishops, the Bishop of Willesden, the Rt Revd Pete Broadbent, urges those thinking of voting against the legislation to think again as 'there is now in the Measure sufficient provision for those who are against, and there's a real sense in which what we are doing is affirming women on equal terms with men'. Bishop Pete assures those who are in favour of the legislation but worried about provisions that the House of Bishops will deliver a Code of Practice that will 'work for those who are opposed' and urges synod members to vote in favour and achieve the two thirds majority needed.

The video can be viewed here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Liyl_d3jMB8