Media Centre

Daily Media Briefing: Friday October 12

Good Morning from the Church of England Communications Office

Wilfrid, bishop, missionary, 709
Elizabeth Fry, prison reformer, 1845
Edith Cavell, nurse, 1915
Tomorrow: Edward the Confessor, king, 1066

1. News from Lambeth Palace
Following his address to the Synod of Bishops in the Vatican on Wednesday, the Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams, gave a brief interview to Vatican Radio.
http://www.archbishopofcanterbury.org/articles.php/2646/archbishops-interview-with-vatican-radio

2. Today's press coverage
Telegraph online
News report "Archbishop of York Dr John Sentamu to visit South African mine"

Times p16
News report "Why did police not stop sex-groomers' crime, asks judge" with ref to comments by Baroness Butler-Sloss including mention of her work for Chichester diocese
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/uk/crime/article3566041.ece

Guardian p32
Simon Jenkins on "Gove's centralism is not so much socialist as Soviet" with ref to the CofE
http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/oct/11/michael-gove-more-soviet-than-socialist?INTCMP=SRCH

Guardian p32
David Miller on "Chris Patten's inquiry into BBC bias must be independent and based on rigorous evidence" with ref to coverage of Christianity
http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/oct/11/bbc-liberal-bias-inquiry?INTCMP=SRCH

Evening Standard p22
Richard Godwin "meets unapologetic Protestant iconoclast Peter Hitchens"
http://www.standard.co.uk/lifestyle/london-life/he-wants-to-bring-back-hanging-and-believes-we-are-in-a-state-of-terminal-moral-decline-peter-hitchens-brother-of-the-more-famous-christopher-8206479.html?origin=internalSearch

Letters
Independent p16
"You can't have a 'husband' unless you are a 'wife' from various
http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/letters/letters-the-strange-rules-of-life-in-toryland-8207789.html

 


Ends


Newspaper Web links with most or all stories -


Daily Mail  http://www.dailymail.co.uk/
Daily Mirror  http://www.mirror.co.uk
FT   http://www.ft.com
Guardian  http://guardian.co.uk
Independent titles http://www.independent.co.uk
Observer  http://www.observer.co.uk
People   http://www.people.co.uk
Sun   http://www.the-sun.co.uk
Sunday Mirror http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk
Sunday Times http://www.sunday-times.co.uk
Telegraph titles http://www.telegraph.co.uk
Times   http://www.thetimes.co.uk

With some stories
Daily Express http://www.express.co.uk
Daily Star  http://www.dailystar.co.uk
Ev Standard  http://www.standard.co.uk

Church press
Baptist Times http://www.baptist.org.uk/btnews.htm
Catholic Herald http://www.catholicherald.co.uk
CEN   http://www.churchnewspaper.com
Church Times http://www.churchtimes.co.uk/front.asp
Methodist Recorder http://www.methodistrecorder.co.uk/index.htm
Tablet   http://www.thetablet.co.uk

Other links
Ananova  http://www.ananova.com
BBC   http://bbc.co.uk
Channel 4  http://www.channel4.com
Private Eye  http://www.private-eye.co.uk
Reuters  http://www.reuters.co.uk