Media Centre

Daily Media Briefing: Tuesday October 2

Good Morning from the Church of England Communications Office 

Feria
Tomorrow: George Bell, bishop, ecumenist, peacemaker, 1958
 

1.      New Bishop of Crediton announced
The Queen has approved the nomination of the Reverend Prebendary Nicholas Howard Paul McKinnel, MA, Team Rector of Plymouth Saint Andrew and St Paul, Stonehouse, in the Diocese of Exeter, and Prebendary of Exeter Cathedral in the Diocese of Exeter, to the Suffragan See of Crediton, in the Diocese of Exeter, in succession to the Right Reverend Robert John Scott Evens, ACIBA, on his resignation on the 31 October 2012. http://www.number10.gov.uk/news/suffragan-see-of-crediton http://www.exeter.anglican.org/index.cfm?page=news.story&newsid=355  

2.  Today's press coverage

BBC online/Guardian online/Daily Telegraph p15 (no link)
News report from Theos lecture yesterday: "Archbishop defends 'anything but infallible' judgements"
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-19796022
http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2012/oct/02/rowan-williams-defends-approach-archbishop

Evening Standard p18
News report "Cameron keen 'to hurry up' decision over new archbishop"
http://www.standard.co.uk/news/london/cameron-keen-to-hurry-up-decision-over-new-archbishop-8192218.html?origin=internalSearch

Evening Standard p28
News report "Church applies to be first in London to hold gay 'weddings'" with ref to a Unitarian chapel
http://www.standard.co.uk/news/london/church-applies-to-be-first-in-london-to-hold-gay-weddings-8192362.html?origin=internalSearch

Daily Telegraph p15/Guardian p4
News report "Group rules out 'conversion' of gay people"
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/9580118/Psychotherapists-warned-against-offering-sexuality-conversion-treatment.html
http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2012/oct/02/rowan-williams-defends-approach-archbishop

Guardian p33
"Corrections and clarifications" in relation to description of the role of Archbishop of Canterbury
http://www.guardian.co.uk/theguardian/2012/oct/01/corrections-and-clarifications?INTCMP=SRCH

Letters
Times p23
"The decision on the next Archbishop 'should not be rushed' from various
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/opinion/letters/article3555081.ece

Ends 

Newspaper Web links with most or all stories -
Daily Mail              http://www.dailymail.co.uk/

Daily Mirror           http://www.mirror.co.uk

FT                         http://www.ft.com

Guardian               http://guardian.co.uk

Independent titles http://www.independent.co.uk

Observer               http://www.observer.co.uk

People                             http://www.people.co.uk

Sun                       http://www.the-sun.co.uk

Sunday Mirror       http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk

Sunday Times        http://www.sunday-times.co.uk

Telegraph titles     http://www.telegraph.co.uk

Times                    http://www.thetimes.co.uk

 

With some stories

Daily Express        http://www.express.co.uk

Daily Star              http://www.dailystar.co.uk

Ev Standard           http://www.standard.co.uk

 

Church press

Baptist Times        http://www.baptist.org.uk/btnews.htm

Catholic Herald     http://www.catholicherald.co.uk

CEN                      http://www.churchnewspaper.com

Church Times        http://www.churchtimes.co.uk/front.asp

Methodist Recorder         http://www.methodistrecorder.co.uk/index.htm

Tablet                    http://www.thetablet.co.uk

 

Other links

Ananova                http://www.ananova.com

BBC                      http://bbc.co.uk

Channel 4             http://www.channel4.com

Private Eye            http://www.private-eye.co.uk

Reuters                 http://www.reuters.co.uk