Media Centre

Daily Media Briefing: Friday December 28

The Holy Innocents
Tomorrow: Thomas Becket, archbishop, martyr, 1170

1.  News from CofE
Appointment of Third Church Estates Commissioner

The Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams, has announced the appointment of Mr Andrew Mackie to serve as Third Church Estates Commissioner in succession to Timothy Walker.
http://www.churchofengland.org/media-centre/news/2012/appointment-of-third-church-estates-commissioner.aspx

2. Today's press coverage
Times p2
Leader "Just War" with comment on "Politicians had a surer sense than the bishops of morality in the Falklands conflict"
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/opinion/leaders/article3641812.ece

Times p27
Comment "End this failed marriage of Church and State"

Telegraph p4 (plus Daily news brief p20)
News report "Dean planned Lord's prayer in Spanish" with ref to archives released on Falklands War
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/margaret-thatcher/9767891/Queen-asked-to-intervene-over-Falklands-Memorial-Service.html

Independent p12
Comment "Churches' hostility to gay marriage only underlines their impotence"
http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/churches-hostility-to-gay-marriage-only-underlines-their-impotence-8432092.html?origin=internalSearch

Times p16
News report "Chief Rabbi calls for charity spirit"
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/faith/article3641906.ece

Independent p5
News report "Tories warn PM that he's splitting party, as leadership speculation mounts" with ref to CofE and gay marriage
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/tories-warn-pm-that-hes-splitting-his-party-over-gay-marriage-as-leadership-speculation-mounts-8432290.html?origin=internalSearch

Daily Mail p29
News report "Dawkins branded a fundamentalist by expert behind the 'God particle'"
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2253640/Battle-professors-Richard-Dawkins-branded-fundamentalist-expert-God-particle.html

Times p39
News report "Resting place of Protestant 'renegades' is 300-year-old gift of religious tolerance" with ref to the Protestant cemetery in Rome
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/faith/article3641906.ece

Wall Street Journal (Europe) p5
News report "Greek Church called upon to do more"

Letters
Telegraph p23
"Defending all the faiths" from various with ref to CofE comment in yesterday's news story
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/letters/9768121/Urban-dwellers-have-no-right-to-set-hunting-policy-for-rural-minority.html

Ends 
Newspaper Web links with most or all stories -
Daily Mail             http://www.dailymail.co.uk/

Daily Mirror          http://www.mirror.co.uk

FT                         http://www.ft.com

Guardian               http://guardian.co.uk

Independent titles  http://www.independent.co.uk

Observer               http://www.observer.co.uk

People                             http://www.people.co.uk

Sun                       http://www.the-sun.co.uk

Sunday Mirror       http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk

Sunday Times        http://www.sunday-times.co.uk

Telegraph titles      http://www.telegraph.co.uk

Times                    http://www.thetimes.co.uk

With some stories

Daily Express        http://www.express.co.uk

Daily Star              http://www.dailystar.co.uk

Ev Standard          http://www.standard.co.uk

Church press

Baptist Times        http://www.baptist.org.uk/btnews.htm

Catholic Herald     http://www.catholicherald.co.uk

CEN                      http://www.churchnewspaper.com

Church Times        http://www.churchtimes.co.uk/front.asp

Methodist Recorder         http://www.methodistrecorder.co.uk/index.htm

Tablet                    http://www.thetablet.co.uk

Other links

Ananova                http://www.ananova.com

BBC                      http://bbc.co.uk

Channel 4             http://www.channel4.com

Private Eye            http://www.private-eye.co.uk

Reuters                 http://www.reuters.co.uk