Media Centre

Daily Media Briefing: Thursday 6th December

Good Morning from the Church of England Communications Office

Daily Briefing for Thursday 6th December 2012

Issued at 09.25 by sj

Listen to our free daily Reflections for Advent podcasts: www.churchofengland.org/advent

Nicholas, bishop, c.326

Tomorrow: Ambrose, bishop, teacher of the faith, 397

1.  Prayer for the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge

The Church of England website has today published a prayer for the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, at http://www.churchofengland.org/prayer-worship/topical-prayers/prayer-for-the-duke-and-duchess-of-cambridge.aspx. It reads:

God our creator,

we thank you for the wonder of new life

and for the mystery of human love.

We pray for William, Duke of Cambridge and Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge

as they prepare to receive the gift of their child.

We thank you that we are known to you by name

and loved by you from all eternity,

through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen

 

2.  Today's press coverage

Times p26

Report that 'the Archbishop of Canterbury has chosen a New Zealand archbishop as the Anglican Communion's representative to the Holy See'.

No online link

Sun p4

Short report on the blessing the Archbishop of York gave at a service in York Minster for the 3rd Battalion, the Yorkshire Regiment.

No online link

Metro p9, Mail p6, Star p6, Sun p7

Reports that 'church congregations up and down the land will be able to join in prayer for the duchess this Sunday' re prayer above.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/kate-middleton/9724425/Kate-Middleton-pregnant-hospital-security-blunder-as-Kates-nurse-falls-for-hoax-call.html

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4683335/Pippa-Middleton-visits-pregnant-Kate-as-Wills-vows-to-be-a-nappy-chappy.html and scroll to end

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/view/286393/Fury-at-Kate-radio-prank/ and scroll to end

Mirror p 37

Report that a cap on 'rates charged by payday lenders was agreed by peers yesterday' with mention of 'new Archbishop of Canterbury'.

No online link

Times p14, Mirror p37

Reports that 'a university Christian Union (Bristol University) has tried to ban women speakers at its meetings unless they are accompanied by their husbands'.

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/faith/article3621945.ece

Ind p22

Report that Newham Council have rejected plans to build Britain's largest mosque.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/rejected-the-mosque-plan-that-grew-so-big-it-attracted-the-wrong-sort-of-crowd-8386158.html

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/rejected-the-mosque-plan-that-grew-so-big-it-attracted-the-wrong-sort-of-crowd-8386158.html

Exp p39

Feature on author Lorna Byrne who "has the ability to see angels".

No online link

 

Letters

Even Stand p53 - Dr Christie Davies - Act of Succession and the ability of a monarch to marry a Roman Catholic 'who refuses to convert".

No online link

  

Newspaper Web links with most or all stories -

Daily Mail              http://www.dailymail.co.uk/

Daily Mirror           http://www.mirror.co.uk

FT                         http://www.ft.com

Guardian               http://guardian.co.uk

Independent titles http://www.independent.co.uk

Observer               http://www.observer.co.uk

People                             http://www.people.co.uk

Sun                       http://www.the-sun.co.uk

Sunday Mirror       http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk

Sunday Times        http://www.sunday-times.co.uk

Telegraph titles     http://www.telegraph.co.uk

Times                    http://www.thetimes.co.uk

 

With some stories

Daily Express        http://www.express.co.uk

Daily Star              http://www.dailystar.co.uk

Ev Standard           http://www.standard.co.uk

 

Church press

Baptist Times        http://www.baptist.org.uk/btnews.htm

Catholic Herald     http://www.catholicherald.co.uk

CEN                      http://www.churchnewspaper.com

Church Times        http://www.churchtimes.co.uk/front.asp

Methodist Recorder         http://www.methodistrecorder.co.uk/index.htm

Tablet                    http://www.thetablet.co.uk

 

Other links

Ananova                http://www.ananova.com

BBC                      http://bbc.co.uk

Channel 4             http://www.channel4.com

Private Eye            http://www.private-eye.co.uk

Reuters                 http://www.reuters.co.uk