Pastoral Advisory Group


Pastoral Advisory Group

Pastoral Principles

The Pastoral Advisory Group published Six Pastoral Principles at General Synod in February 2019. The latest version can be downloaded here.

Following the February 2017 Group of Sessions, the Archbishops of Canterbury and York issued a letter on 16th February outlining their proposals for continuing to address, as a church, questions concerning human sexuality. The Archbishops committed themselves and the House of Bishops to the creation of a Pastoral Advisory Group as an integral part of this. Further information was provided in a paper from the Archbishops published in June 2017, ‘Next Steps in Human Sexuality’ (GS Misc 1158).

Current members of the Pastoral Advisory Group



The Bishop of Newcastle, The Rt Revd Christine Hardman

Other Episcopal Members

The Bishop of Exeter, The Rt Revd Robert Atwell

The Bishop of Willesden, The Rt Revd Pete Broadbent

The Bishop of Grantham, The Rt Revd Dr Nicholas Chamberlain

The Bishop of Repton, The Rt Revd Jan McFarlane


Professor Helen Berry

Dr Jamie Harrison

The Revd Dr Rosemarie Mallett

The Ven Cherry Vann

Ed Shaw, Emmanuel Church, Bristol