Appointments Committee

Appointments Committee

There is provision for the establishment of the Appointments Committee both in the National Institutions Measure 1998 and in the Standing Orders of the General Synod (SO 116). It is, therefore, a Committee both of the Archbishops' Council and the General Synod and it is responsible for making such appointments and/or recommendations on appointments to synodical and other bodies as the Synod or the Archbishops' Council require. Details of forthcoming agendas and recent appointments by the Committee are available online.

Appointments include:

  • appointments to synodical bodies, such as legislative steering or revision committees, the Standing Orders Committee etc
  • appointments to Boards, Councils and Committees of the Archbishops' Council
  • representatives of the Synod on the governing bodies of theological training institutions
  • representatives of the Synod on the governing bodies of mission agencies (Partnership for World Mission)
  • representatives of the Church of England at ecumenical conferences
  • representatives of the Church of England at the governing assemblies of other denominations

Meeting Dates


14 March
9 May 

10 July
19 September (AGENDA)

28 November


Agendas are normally posted around two weeks before these dates. Members are encouraged to look at the business scheduled for discussion by the Committee and consider whether they would wish to propose someone (or themselves) for any of the appointments listed. Please contact the Committee's Secretary with nominations and for further information.


Canon Margaret Swinson

Elected by the House of Bishops
The Rt Revd Julian Henderson, Bishop of Blackburn

Elected by the House of Clergy
The Revd Mark Lucas
The Revd Canon Giles Goddard
The Ven. John Perumbalath

Elected by the House of Laity
Lucy Docherty
Sarah Finch
Dr Rachel Jepson

Appointed by the Archbishops' Council
The Revd Dr Rosalyn Murphy
Canon Elizabeth Paver

Jonathan Neil-Smith
020 7898 1373