The Corporation of The Church House

The Corporation of The Church House was founded in 1888 as the Church of England's permanent tribute to Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee. Its principal instigator, Dr Harvey Goodwin (Bishop of Carlisle), saw it as the national administrative headquarters and likened it to a "chapter-house for the Church of England". Land was quickly acquired in Dean's Yard, close to the Palace of Westminster and Westminster Abbey, but the existing tenancies meant that only a fraction of the original design could be built in the early 1890's.

Today, the building is the headquarters of the Archbishops' Council, the Church Commissioners and all its Boards and Councils as well as of the Church of England Pensions Board and the National Society. It is the meeting-place, twice each year, of the General Synod of the Church of England.

It also houses the very successful Conference Centre at Church House, the trading subsidiary of the Royal Chartered Corporation which owns and operates the building.

Chris Palmer CBE is Secretary to the Corporation of The Church House.

Contact Details:

The Corporation of Church House, 
Church House, 
Great Smith Street, 
SW1P 3AZ. 

Telephone: 020 7898 1311
Fax: 020 7898 1321 

Find Your Local Church


Use this popular website for service times, seasonal events, contact details and more