About General Synod

General Synod meeting in Central Hall, York

The national assembly of the Church of England

General Synod

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure 1969, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly.

The General Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

Houses of the General Synod

There are 478 voting members of General Synod arranged into three Houses - click here for a diagram and see below for more information.

House of Bishops
House of Clergy
House of Laity
Embroidered cross on stole

Synod Commissions and Committees

Information about the various commissions and committees established by the General Synod.

Crucifix inside Derby Cathedral Diocese of Derby

Elections and Appointments

The General Synod elects and appoints to a number of positions. 

The Synod Office

The General Synod is supported by staff of the National Church Institutions. The Synod Office is located at Church House, Great Smith Street, London SW1P 3AZ. The Church House switchboard number is 020 7898 1000.

Synod staff