There are 33 Church Commissioners, who have trustee responsibility for meeting our charitable obligations. Six of the Commissioners hold offices of state and the other 27 make up the Board of Governors, the main policy-making body.


Most Revd and Right Honourable Justin Welby
Most Revd and Right Honourable John Sentamu

Appointed by Her Majesty The Queen

Loretta Minghella OBE
Rt Hon Dame Caroline Spelman MP

Appointed by the Archbishop of Canterbury

Dr Eve Poole

Elected by the General Synod

Rt Revd David Walker
Rt Revd Dr Martin Warner
Rt Revd David Urqhart
Rt Revd Christine Hardman
Revd Canon Bob Baker
Revd Christopher Smith
Revd Stephen Trott
April Alexander
Canon Peter Bruinvels
Gavin Oldham
Jacob Vince

Elected by the Deans

Very Revd Jonathan Greener
Very Revd Stephen Lake

Nominated by Her Majesty The Queen

Suzanne Avery
Duncan Owen
Lord Best

Nominated by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York

William Featherby QC
Jeremy Clack
Mark Woolley
Poppy Allonby
Graham Oldroyd
Alan Smith