There are 33 Church Commissioners, who have trustee responsibility for meeting our charitable obligations. Six of the Commissioners hold offices of state and the other 27 make up the Board of Governors, the main policy-making body.


Most Revd and Right Honourable Justin Welby
Most Revd and Right Honourable Stephen Cottrell

Appointed by Her Majesty The Queen

Alan Smith
Mr Andrew Selous MP

Appointed by the Archbishop of Canterbury

Revd Canon Dr Flora Winfield

Elected by the General Synod

Rt Revd Dr David Walker
Rt Revd Vivienne Faull
Rt Revd Stephen Lake
Rt Revd Graham Usher
Revd Christopher Smith
Revd Stephen Trott
Revd Anne Stevens
Canon Peter Bruinvels
Jacob Vince
Jay Greene
Canon Elizabeth Renshaw MBE

Elected by the Deans

Very Revd Rogers Govender
Very Revd Mark Bonney

Nominated by Her Majesty The Queen

Suzanne Avery
Kif Hancock
Nigel Timmins

Nominated by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York

Busola Sodeinde
Dame Kate Barker
Remi Olu-Pitan
Morag Ellis KC
Helen Steers
Jenny Buck