Crown Nominations Commission

The function of the Crown Nominations Commission is to consider vacancies in diocesan bishoprics in the Provinces of Canterbury and York, and candidates for appointments to them. At each meeting the Chair is taken by the Archbishop of the Province for the vacancy under consideration. The Commission identifies two candidates suitable for appointment, whose names are submitted to the Prime Minister by the appropriate Archbishop or, in the case of the Archbishopric of Canterbury or York, by the chair of the Commission. The names submitted are given in an order of preference decided upon by the Commission and the Prime Minister will submit the first name to Her Majesty The Queen for approval.


Ex officio

The Most Revd and Rt Hon Justin Welby (Archbishop of Canterbury)

The Most Revd and Rt Hon Dr John Sentamu (Archbishop of York)

Elected Members

Three members of the House of Clergy of General Synod:

The Reverend John Dunnett

The Revd Canon Dr Judith Maltby

The Very Revd Andrew Nunn

Three members of the House of Laity of General Synod:

Mr Aiden Hargreaves-Smith

Mrs April Alexander

Ms Jane Patterson

Six members of the Vacancy-in-See Committee of the diocese whose bishopric is to become, or has become, vacant

Ex officio non-voting members

Canon Caroline Boddington (Archbishops' Secretary for Appointments)

Mr Edward Chaplin CMG OBE (Prime Minister's Appointments Secretary)