Initial Ministerial Education

Initial Ministerial Education

At its heart it's about:

Equipping and developing the Church's ministers in order that they might begin a ministry which may stimulate and enable the whole Church to participate more fully in the mission of God in the world.

Initial Ministerial Education (IME) for the clergy comprises the two to three years before ordination to the diaconate (known as IME Phase 1, formerly IME 1-3) and the years of the initial curacy (IME Phase 2, formerly IME 4-7).  IME for licensed lay ministers (Readers) increasingly follows a similar pattern. On this page you will find links to the following areas:

Formation Criteria

Formation Criteria for ordained ministry May 2014 (approved by House of Bishops December 2014)

Forming and equipping the people of God May 2014 core guidelines and additional guidelines for lay ministries including Pioneer, Reader and ministry among young people, children and families

Selection and Formation Criteria for Readers May 2014 (approved by the Ministry Council September 2014)


IME Phase 1

IME Phase 1 - theological education institutions, new ordination training provision, Bishops' Regulations, Research Degrees, Numbers in training, Finance for training, Student additional support.

From Phase 1 to Phase 2 - code of procedure, title post, reporting

IME Phase 2

IME Phase 2 - formation and assessment in Phase 2, learning agreement, feedback forms, OPM deployment

Policy Library

Policy library - the Church of England's policy papers regarding training for ministry, lay and ordained


Points and banding form - to calculate the training application for individual ordinands