About Us

The Closed Churches Division

The Division oversees the work to secure the future of closed church buildings. working with Dioceses to find suitable alternative uses for such buildings. Staff work to and under the direction of the Church Commissioners' Church Buuildings (Uses and Disposals) Committee.

Click here or Scroll down for staff contact details.

The Church Buildings Uses and Disposals Committee

The Commissioners' Church Buildings (Uses & Disposals) Committee oversees the work of the Closed Churches Division carrying out the Commissioners' functions under Part 6 of the Mission and Pastoral Measure 2011, securing suitable alternative uses where possible.

It  looks at any representations against proposals for the future of a closed church building and decides what should happen if a suitable alternative use cannot be found. You can learn more about the process for making representations by clicking here.

The Committee Members

  • Andrew Mackie, Third Estates Church Commissioner (Chair)
  • The Reverend Stephen Trott
  • The Reverend Canon Bob Baker
  • The Reverend Canon Peter Cavanagh*
  • The Reverend Simon Talbott*
  • April Alexander
  • John Steel*
  • Margaret Davies*
  • Ian Watmore

*Non-Commissioner members of the Committee. All Commissioner members of the Committee are members of the Board of Governors

The following documents relate to the Committee's work:

The Committee's Terms of Reference

The Scope of the Committee's Responsibilities

The Committee's most recent Annual Report to the Board of Governors


Please click here for more information about making representations to the Commissioners which will be looked at by the  Church Buildings (Uses & Disposals) Committee.


Closed Churches Division Staff

The Closed Churches department deals with all issues surrounded closed church buildings, including policy and deciding on an alternative future use. Case workers operate in the different regions, working with partners and stakeholders to find new uses for unused closed buildings.


Closed Churches Team Manager: Jeremy Tipping 020 7898 1595


Case Officers

Southern region

Case Officer: Adrian Browning 01722 438664 (based in Salisbury)

Church Commissioners, Church House, Crane Street, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP1 2QB

Dioceses: Truro, Exeter, Bristol, Bath and Wells, Salisbury, Winchester, Portsmouth, Guildford, Chichester, Rochester, Canterbury.

West Midland region

Case Officer: Anne Griffiths 0121 426 0436 (based in Birmingham)

Church Commissioners, Diocesan Office, 1 Colmore Row, Birmingham B3 2BJ

Dioceses: Gloucester, Oxford, Hereford, Worcester, Coventry, Birmingham, Lichfield, Derby, Leicester.

East Midland region

Case Officer: Karen Abaka-Wood 01727 818117 (based in St Albans)

Church Commissioners, Diocesan Office, Holywell Lodge, 41 Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HE

Dioceses: St Albans, Chelmsford, Ely, Peterborough, St Edmundsbury and Ipswich, Norwich, Lincoln, Southwell and Nottingham.

North West Region

Case Officer: Norman Bilsborough 01254 958851 (based in Blackburn)

Church Commissioners, Clayton House, Walker Office Park, Blackburn, BB1 2QE

Dioceses: Blackburn; Chester; Carlisle; Liverpool; Manchester.

North East Region

Case Officer: Emma Cosgrif 01133 530 269 (based in Leeds)

Church Commissioners, Diocesan House, St Mary's St, Leeds, LS9 7DP

Dioceses: Durham, Newcastle, Sheffield, West Yorkshire & the Dales.

London and Southwark

Case Officer: Harvey Howlett and Jeremy Tipping (both operate from Church House, London).

Dioceses: London, Southwark.

Special Projects

Special Projects Manager: Alan Guthrie-Jones 020 7898 1734

Casework Support

Casework Support Manager: Harvey Howlett 020 7898 1782

Technician / Administrative Officer: Vivienne Chick 020 7898 1774

For contents enquiries phone 020 7898 1774

Policy Team

Policy Officer: Andrea Mulkeen 020 7898 1780

Policy Advisor: Post currently vacant 020 7898 1781

Committee Secretary

Head of Department
Pastoral and Closed Churches Secretary
: Paul Lewis 020 7898 1741

Personal Secretary: Caroline White 020 7898 1783


Contact Address:

Closed Churches Division

Church House

Great Smith St