How to Make Comments on a Church Closure

The Church Buildings (Uses & Disposals) Committee considers representations in respect of proposals for settling the future of churches closed for regular public worship.

For a list of current schemes, please click Current Draft Schemes and Orders in the Related Links box on the right.

The representation procedure is explained in the following note and flowchart.

Our leaflet Your Views Count explains how we will consider your representation and how you may be able, if you wish, to put your views to our Church Buildings (Uses & Disposals) Committee in person. It also explains the rules operating at Committee meetings where members of the public may be allowed to speak.

The Committee will be meeting on the following dates:

  • Wednesday 18 November 2015
  • Wednesday 16 December 2015

If you wish to attend a meeting of the Committee where representations are being heard, you should refer to the following leaflet:

Practical arrangements for those attending meetings of the Church Buildings (Uses & Disposals) Committee

For details of the location of the next meeting on 18 November 2015, and to view the papers for the meeting, please click here.

For further information about the membership of the Committee and the scope of its responsibilities, please click here.

The provisional committee dates for 2016 are:

  • Thursday 11 February 2016
  • Thursday 8 March 2016
  • Wednesday 13 April 2016
  • Wednesday 11 May 2016
  • Monday 6- Wednesday 8 June 2016 (Tour)
  • Wednesday 13 July 2016
  • Wednesday 7 September 2016
  • Wednesday 12 October 2016
  • Wednesday 9 November 2016
  • Thursday 8 December 2016


If you have a general enquiry or comments about these web pages please contact the Closed Churches Division