Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross have formed part of Christian devotion for many centuries because they offer a particularly vivid way of following in the steps of Jesus on the way to the Cross.

Explore the content below and find out more about the Walking the Way of the Cross book and Kindle e-book, published by Church House Publishing, which features further reflections on all fifteen Stations by Archbishop Stephen Cottrell, Canon Dr Paula Gooder and Bishop Philip North.

You can also explore the Common Worship service of ‘The Way of the Cross’ in our Prayer and Worship section.

The Stations of the Cross have formed part of Christian devotion at Passiontide for many centuries because they enable us to engage actively with the path of suffering walked by Jesus. They originated when early Christians visited Jerusalem and wanted to follow literally in the footsteps of Jesus, tracing the path from Pilate’s house to Calvary. They would pause for prayer and devotion at various points. Eventually, those pilgrims brought the practice back to their home countries and ever since then Christians of differing traditions have used this form of devotion.

Read more about the Stations of the Cross
An abstract black, white and red illustration of Jesus praying in the Garden of Gethsemane with the text 'Walking the Way of the Cross'. Nicholas Markell

Walking the Way of the Cross podcast

Daily episodes marking the Stations of the Cross from Passion Sunday (21 March) to Easter Day (4 April).

First Station

Jesus in agony in the Garden of Gethsemane

Stations of the Cross 1 - Jesus prays.

Second Station

Jesus betrayed by Judas and arrested

Stations of the Cross 2 - Jesus is betrayed.

Third Station

Jesus condemned by the Sanhedrin

Stations of the Cross 3 - Jesus is condemned.

Fourth Station

Peter denies Jesus

Stations of the Cross 4 - Jesus is denied.

Fifth Station

Jesus judged by Pilate

Stations of the Cross 5 - Jesus is judged.

Sixth Station

Jesus scourged and crowned with thorns

Stations of the Cross 6 - Jesus is scourged.

Seventh Station

Jesus carries his cross

Stations of the Cross 7 - Jesus carries His cross.

Eighth Station

Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry the cross

Stations of the Cross 8 - Jesus us helped by Simon.

Ninth Station

Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

Stations of the Cross 9 - Jesus encounters woman of Jerusalem

Tenth Station

Jesus is crucified

Stations of the Cross 10 - Jesus is crucified.

Eleventh Station

Jesus promises the kingdom to the penitent thief

Stations of the Cross 11 - Jesus promises to share His reign.

Twelfth Station

Jesus on the cross; his mother and his friend

Stations of the Cross 12 - Jesus speaks to Mary and the Disciple.

Thirteenth Station

Jesus dies on the cross

Stations of the Cross 13 - Jesus dies on the cross.

Fourteenth Station

Jesus laid in the tomb

Stations of the Cross 14 - Jesus is placed in the tomb

Fifteenth Station

Jesus is risen from the dead

Stations of the Cross 15 - Jesus is raised from the dead
Easter garden inside Worcester Cathedral James Atkinson

Alleluia. Christ is risen!

The traditional response to this proclamation is He is risen indeed. Alleluia!

Images of the Stations of the Cross are copyright (c) 2013 Nicholas Markell | Eyekons. Reproduced with permission.