• General Synod

    The 'Parliament' of the Church of England. The General Synod usually meets twice a year to debate and discuss matters of interest and to consider and approve amendments to Church legislation.

  • House of Clergy

    The House of Clergy is made up of the Lower House of the Convocation of Canterbury and the Lower House of the Convocation of York joined into one House. It consists of clergy (other than bishops) who have been elected, appointed or chosen in accordance with Canon H 2 and the rules made under it (including deans, proctors from the dioceses, forces and university constituencies, and clerical members of religious communities) together with ex officio members and up to five co-opted members.

  • House of Laity

    The House of Laity consists of members from each diocese of the two Provinces elected by lay members of the deanery synods (or annual meetings of the chaplaincies in the case of the Diocese in Europe) or chosen by and from the lay members of religious communities, together with ex officio members.

  • Hymn

    The praise of God in song, sung at a church service.

  • Icon

    An image (usually painted) of a biblical scene or person, or of a saint.

  • Incumbent

    The priest who is in charge of church life in a particular benefice. Depending on the parish his/her title may be Vicar, Rector or Priest-in-Charge

  • Intercessions

    (In a service) a time of prayer asking for God's assistance.

  • Intinction

    The action of dipping the bread in the wine at a Eucharist so that a communicant receives both together.

  • Inventory

    A list of all objects owned by the cathedral chapter that is thought to be of architectural, archaeological, artistic or historic interest.

  • Kingdom

    One of the key elements of the teachings of Jesus in the New Testament.