Membership of Steering Committee to prepare women bishops’ legislation


The Appointments Committee of General Synod has announced the membership of the Steering Committee to take charge of the preparation of draft legislation to enable women to become bishops.  The Committee will meet a number of times in September and October to prepare the draft legislation for consideration at the November meeting of the Synod . The size and membership of the Committee will be reviewed by the Appointments Committee after this initial phase of work.

As outlined at this month's Synod in York the size of the newly formed Steering Committee reflects the suggestion from the Bishop of Willesden, the Rt Revd Pete Broadbent, urging "facilitated discussions" to continue. Canon David Porter, the Archbishop of Canterbury's director of reconciliation, who guided the facilitated discussions at Synod, helped advise the appointments committee.

Steering Committee members

The Revd Paul Benfield

The Revd Canon Jane Charman

The Revd Canon Robert Cotton

Dr Philip Giddings

Dr Paula Gooder

The Ven Christine Hardman

Dr Jamie Harrison

The Rt Revd James Langstaff (Chair)

Mrs Susannah Leafe

The Revd Dr Rosemarie Mallett

Canon Margaret Swinson

The Revd Preb Roderick Thomas

The Rt Revd Dr Martin Warner

The Rt Revd Trevor Willmott

The Revd Canon Dr Dagmar Winter

The Very Reverend Vivienne Faull (Consultant)