New members of Archbishops' Council announced


The Bishop of Portsmouth, Jonathan Frost and The Archdeacon of Liverpool, Miranda Threlfall-Holmes have been elected to serve on the Archbishops’ Council, following the arising of two casual vacancies.

Bishop Jonathan and Archdeacon Miranda will replace the Bishop of Durham, Paul Butler, who will retire shortly, and Canon Tim Goode, who has stepped down from General Synod following his appointment as Canon for Congregational Discipleship and Nurture at York Minster.

The Archbishops’ Council was established in 1999. The Council is a charity, set up in law to co-ordinate, promote, aid and further the work and mission of the Church of England. It does this by providing national support to the Church in dioceses and locally, working closely with the House of Bishops and other bodies of the Church. The Archbishops’ Council is one of the seven National Church Institutions.

The Archbishops’ Council looks forward to welcoming them onto the Council from December.