Church Buildings (Uses and Disposals) Committee

The Church Buildings (Uses and Disposals) Committee (CBUDC) is responsible for the Church Commissioners' functions relating to closed churches.

These functions are:

  • Settling the future of all church buildings closed for regular public worship under the Mission and Pastoral Measure 2011.
  • To consider any objections to Schemes providing for these buildings' future. 

The committee is made up of both clergy and lay people. 


Church Commissioners

  • Dr Eve Poole, Third Church Estates Commissioner (Chair)
  • The Reverend Stephen Trott (Deputy Chair)
  • The Reverend Canon Bob Baker
  • April Alexander
  • The Lord Best


  • The Reverend Canon Peter Cavanagh
  • The Reverend Simon Talbott
  • John Steel
  • Margaret Davies

The committee's Terms of Reference and Scope of Responsibilities can be found at the bottom of this page.

Considering formal objections

The Committee considers all representations (formal comments) for or against draft proposals where formal objections are not withdrawn. A flow-chart setting out the process can be found at the bottom of this page. 

All draft proposals can be found on our Consultation Page. The cases where the consultation process has ended but which may be considered by the Committee can be found on our Representation Cases page


The Committee will next meet on Wednesday 17th October 2018 at Church House Westminster. The cases to be considered by the Committee are:

  • 1
    Current: What can we help you with?
  • 2
  • 3
Page 1 of 3 (0%)
Indicates required field