Webinars on getting to net zero carbon

This series of webinars is designed to support and equip you to reach the Church’s ambitious "net zero carbon" emissions target.

Choose as many topics as you need to help you on this decade-long journey.

Find details below of the various topics, dates, and how to book. 

Diocesan Environment Officers holding up banners with the fifth mark of mission

Audience, length, and how to book

Our webinars are primarily aimed at diocesan staff and volunteers working in roles with an environmental aspect to them.  They are also appropriate for those running cathedrals, TEIs, or other institutions. Individual clergy and parishioners are also welcome to attend, but not all content will be relevant.

Webinars are generally an hour long, with around 40-45 minutes of content and then time for some questions at the end, submitted through the 'chat' area. 

Places on all webinars are free but must be booked using the Eventbrite links below. 

When you book, you will be sent the link showing you how to dial in. The webinars are run using Zoom.   

Topics, times, and dates

1. Forming your team

This webinar focuses on how to gather the right people within your working group, to help you develop and implement a 'net zero carbon' action plan.

Current dates:   

  • Monday 11th May, 1-2 pm.  
  • Thursday 14th May, 4-5 pm. 
  • Monday 18th May, 4-5pm
  • Tuesday 7th July, 1-2pm
  • Thursday 30th July, 4-5pm.

For all dates and times, register here.

2. Action planning

This webinar focuses on developing an action plan for getting to net zero across all diocesan activities, including churches, schools and land.

Current dates:   

  • Monday 8th June, 4-5pm.  
  • Thursday 11th June, 1-2pm.
  • Tuesday 23rd June, 1-2pm.
  • Thursday 25th June, 4-5pm.

For all dates and times, register here.

3. A positive vision of a zero carbon church

This webinar focuses on buildings. What practical changes can be made to buildings, to reduce the carbon emissions from heating, lighting, and running the buildings? 

Current dates:   

  • Tuesday 19th May, 1-2pm.  
  • Tuesday 19th May, 4-5pm. 
  • Monday 1st June, 4-5pm. 
  • Tuesday 2nd June, 1-2pm
  • Thursday 9th July, 4-5pm. 

For all dates and times, register here.

4. Defining and measuring net zero

This webinar focuses on what we mean by net zero; what is in and out of scope.  It also discusses ways we can start to measure net zero.

Current dates:   

  • Tuesday 16th June, 4-5pm
  • Thursday 18th June, 1-2pm.
  • Monday 29th June, 4-5pm.
  • Thursday 2nd July, 1-2pm.

For all dates and times, register here.

Future topics

Planned future topics

  Net zero schools and youth groups

  Modern approaches to church heating 

  How church land contributes to net zero 

If you have ideas for other topics, please email [email protected]

The Church of England logo with the words Environmental Programme below