Church of England announces New Appointments to Ethical Investment Advisory Group


The Church of England announced today the new Membership of the Ethical Investment Advisory Group (EIAG), which includes six Independent Members and three Members appointed by the National Investing Bodies of the Church of England.

The EIAG provides timely and practical advice to the three Church of England National Investing Bodies (the Church Commissioners, the Church of England Pensions Board and the CBF Church of England Funds (managed by CCLA)), which together have assets under management exceeding £12 billion. Founded in 1997, the EIAG is one of the oldest advisory committees on ethical investment in the world.

The appointments come following changes designed to reflect best practice in advisory committee governance including the introduction of an open appointment process for independent members, overseen by a new Nominations Committee for the EIAG.

The EIAG will also operate under new Terms of Reference, which have been designed to enhance the EIAG’s ability to provide the highest quality advice, grounded in theology and tailored to the way the National Investing Bodies invest.

The newly formed EIAG will meet in March. Its Members will be:

  • The Rt Revd Dr David WALKER (Church Commissioners)

Bishop of Manchester, Chair of the EIAG, Deputy Chair of the Church Commissioners’ Board of Governors

  • Mr Alan FLETCHER (Church of England Pensions Board)

Vice Chair of the Church of England Pensions Board and Chair of its Investment Committee.

  • Mr Stan CHAN (CBF Church of England Funds) 

CBF Trustee Director and member of the Audit Committee, Director at Straits Consulting and Non Executive Director in the not-for-profit sector.

  • The Revd Paula VENNELLS CBE (Independent Member – newly appointed)

CEO of the Post Office, Non-Executive Director of the Cabinet Office and of Morrisons PLC, Chair Designate of Imperial College NHS Trust. Ordained 2006.

  • Ms Barbara RIDPATH (Independent Member – newly appointed)

Non Executive Director in the banking sector, and Member of the Council of Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs

  • Mr Kumar JACOB MBE (Independent Member – newly appointed)

CEO of a private Social Purpose Company, former Vice Chair of Christian Aid.

  • Mr David NUSSBAUM (Independent Member – newly appointed)

Chief Executive of The Elders, Non-Executive Director of Drax Group plc, and a Deputy Chair of the International Integrated Reporting Council; former Chief Executive of WWF-UK and of Transparency International.”

  • Professor Robert SONG (Independent Member – newly appointed)

Professor in the Department of Theology and Religion, University of Durham, former President of the Society for the Study of Christian Ethics

  • Ms Faith WARD (Independent Member – newly appointed)

Chief Responsible Investment Officer, Brunel Pension Partnership, Co-Chair of the Transition Pathway Initiative, Chair of the Reporting and Assessment Advisory Committee to UNPRI.


Chair of the EIAG, David Walker, Bishop of Manchester, said: ‘We are delighted to announce the new membership of the EIAG. I am looking forward to chairing this group of talented people as we continue to promote authentically Christian values across the Church’s investments.’

The EIAG has a track record of providing guidance in key areas of ethical investment, including recently the publication of a policy on investing in extractive industries 




Notes for editors:

For more information about the work of the EIAG see the most recent Annual Review 

The EIAG provides timely and practical advice to the three National Investing Bodies (NIBs) to enable them to invest in a way that is distinctly Christian and Anglican. In particular, the EIAG’s advice relates to:

  • Assets, sectors or markets in which it would not be appropriate for the NIBs to invest
  • Stewardship of the NIBs' investments (including voting and engagement)
  • Relationships with managers and other investors
  • Policy issues

The six independent members of the EIAG are appointed by a Nominations Committee following an open application and interview process, and the other three members are appointed by the National Investing Bodies.

The Nominations Committee is chaired by the Chair of the EIAG (Bishop David Walker) and comprises representatives of the National Investing Bodies, the Archbishops, the Mission and Public Affairs Council, and the Archbishops’ Council, plus a member nominated by the Appointments Committee of the Church of England and a representative of the ecumenical Church Investors Group.