Theological review of work of Crown Nominations Commission


As General Synod were advised in July 2016, the Archbishops of Canterbury and York have commissioned a theological review of the work of the Crown Nominations Commission.

The group will be chaired by Professor Oliver O'Donovan FBA and the other members are:

  • Professor Sarah Coakley - Norris-Hulse Professor of Divinity, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Tom Greggs - Marischal Professor of Divinity, University of Aberdeen
  • The Most Reverend Josiah Idowu-Fearon - Secretary General of the Anglican Communion
  • Professor Morwenna  Ludlow - Professor of Christian History and Theology, University of Exeter
  • Father Thomas Seville CR - Faith and Order Commission
  • The Revd Dr Jennifer Strawbridge -  Associate Professor of New Testament Studies, University of Oxford
  • The Revd Canon Dr James Walters - Chaplain and Senior Lecturer, London School of Economics

The Commission has been very active over the last few years and as it is anticipated that there will be fewer vacant sees in the near future, it is timely to review the way in which it works. The focus of the group will be to explore and provide the theological framework for the Commission as it discharges its responsibilities and to make any recommendations on process in the light of this. The group will be inviting a number of people to meet with it as well as receiving written submissions. It is very conscious of its responsibility to ensure that the full richness and diversity of Church voices are represented and starts its work this week.

It is anticipated that the group will make a report to the Archbishops who have commissioned the work.  They have committed to sharing it with General Synod in 2018.

More information about the Crown Nominations Commission