Curacy, also known as initial ministerial education phase two, is a vital time in which newly ordained ministers continue to learn and grow in the roles to which God has called them.
Female clergy member reacting to child Diocese of Gloucester

It is the agreed policy of the House of Bishops that newly ordained ministers should serve at least three years in a training post before taking on a post of incumbent status.

You will find our policy and guidance for dioceses below:


Necessary paperwork

Appointment of curates

Formation and assessment in curacy

Title posts

After their first phase of training, ordinands need a ‘title post’ to which they will be ordained and in which they will continue their training as a curate.

For ordinands who have been ‘released’ by their sponsoring diocese and are seeking a title post in a different diocese, this page acts a noticeboard of vacant positions. Click on the headings below for more information. Please use the contact details provided with each advert for more information on the post and how to apply. This list has the most recent notices at the top.

Guidance and support for candidates during this process is the responsibility of the ordinand’s TEI and sponsoring diocese, with the TEI normally taking the lead role when candidates are considering a title post in a different diocese, so please raise any questions or concerns with your TEI.

Rotherham Minister and St Paul's Masbrough, Sheffield
Great Aycliffe, Durham
The Two Rivers Mission Community, Carlisle
St John the Baptist, Purbrook, and Christ Church, Portsdown, Portsmouth
Holy Trinity Hinckley, Leicester
Holy Trinity Hounslow, planting curate, London
St Paul's, Bedford, St Albans
Holy Trinity Redditch and St Leonard's Beoley, Worcester
Christ Church Lye and Stambermill, Worcester
Cornerstone, planting curate, Leicester
Kempsey, Worcester
All Saints, Worcester
Christ Church Virginia Water, Guildford
The Bourne with Tilford, Farnham, Guildford
The Heart of Westmorland Mission Community, Carlisle
Keswick St John's, Keswick Mission Community, Carlisle
Cleobury Mortimer, Hereford
West Norfolk Priory Group, Ely
St George's, planting curate, Leeds
Tideswell Parish in The Peak District National Park, Derby
St John’s Walton, Chesterfield, Derby Diocese
Cirencester with Watermoor, Diocese of Gloucester
Kingsdown & Creekside Benefice, Canterbury Diocese
St Luke’s Ramsgate, Canterbury Diocese

Source URL:

List of links present in page