The Church Commissioners for England today announced the appointment of Hilary Wild as Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee.
Hilary Wild

Hilary joined the Church Commissioners in February 2019 as a non-Commissioner member of their Audit and Risk Committee and takes up her new role as Committee Chair today. Hilary replaces Jeremy Clack, who stepped down from the role at the end of 2020, having served the full length of his term.

Hilary begins her role as Chair following a career which spans roles in financial services as a director at Kleinwort Benson and with the UN, where she was Comptroller and Director of Business Change at the World Health Organisation. Her numerous current and past non-executive roles include Board or Audit Committee roles within the CGIAR System, the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the UN, and WaterAid UK.

Chief Executive Gareth Mostyn said, “I am delighted that the Board has made this appointment. We strive for robust governance in all that we do and the Audit and Risk Committee is a vital ‘critical friend’. Hilary has gained enormous experience in her executive and non-executive, local and international career, covering the development of governance systems, business strategy, and change management as well as audit and risk. I am very grateful to her for putting all this skill and knowledge at the Church’s disposal and I look forward to working with her in her new role.”

Commenting on the appointment, Hilary said: “It is a great privilege to be appointed as Chair of the Church Commissioners Audit and Risk Committee to succeed Jeremy Clack, who gave such great service in the role.  I am excited about the opportunity to support the Church and work with my committee colleagues as we contribute our skills and expertise as part of the overall governance framework of the Church Commissioners.”   

This appointment underscores the Church Commissioners’ ongoing commitment to improving diversity at every level of the organisation, and while there is further to go, Hilary’s appointment means that for the first time, each of the Commissioners’ four committees will be chaired by women.

Source URL: