How we work and governance

Statement of safeguarding principles

We are committed to the safeguarding, care and nurture of everyone within our community.

The Church of England will:

  • Promote a safer environment and culture
  • Safely recruit and support all those with any responsibility related to children and vulnerable adults within the Church
  • Respond promptly to every safeguarding concern or allegation 
  • Care pastorally for victims/survivors of abuse and other affected persons
  • Care pastorally for those who are the subject of concerns or allegations of abuse and other affected persons
  • Respond to those that may pose a present risk to others

These policy commitments are based on our five foundations:

  • Gospel
  • Human rights and the law
  • Core principles
  • Good safeguarding practice
  • Learning from the past


National Safeguarding Steering Group & National Safeguarding Panel

The National Safeguarding Steering Group (NSSG) met for the first time on 12 October 2016. This group, established by the Archbishops, is a successor to the House of Bishops Safeguarding Monitoring and Reference Group. Its membership consists of a range of representatives from across the Church, to include National Church Institutions, the dioceses and Cathedrals. It is chaired by the Lead Bishop for Safeguarding, Peter Hancock and staffed by the National Safeguarding Team.

The activities of the NSSG are set out in its Terms of Reference. The membership of the NSSG includes both lay and clerical representation and are appointed by the Archbishops. Please see the terms of reference document above for a list of members.

National Safeguarding Panel

The Church of England has published the first report from its National Safeguarding Panel (NSP), set up to provide vital reference and scrutiny from a range of voices, including survivors, on the development of policy and guidance. The Panel is chaired by Meg Munn and its members also include directors and chief executives of safeguarding charities and organisations, and church leaders and officers. It was set up, following the Chichester safeguarding reports, to resource the Church of England's leadership (Archbishops' Council and House of Bishops) with good high-level strategic advice and direction on safeguarding. Its main aims are to:

  • Provide visible leadership and excellence
  • Promote good safeguarding practice
  • Support a survivor perspective

The Bishop of Bath and Wells, Peter Hancock who is the CofE's lead bishop on safeguarding, said: "The Panel provides that vital perspective for the Church to view its safeguarding work through the lens of experts and voices from a range of backgrounds and experiences. Survivor voices are critical to the Panel and I commend their commitment to support this ongoing work. I would like to thank Bishop Paul Butler, my predecessor in the role, who was instrumental in setting up the Panel and getting its important work off the ground."

Please see here for the National Safeguarding Panel's Terms of Reference and Membership.

Read the complaints handling procedure for NCI staff.

Information on the National Safeguarding Team (NST)

  • Director of Safeguarding – Melissa Caslake
  • Deputy Director of Development – David Worlock
  • Senior Casework Manager - Moira Murray
  • Caseworker - Elizabeth Pollard
  • National Safeguarding Training Managers  - Andrea Watkins / Craig Hutton (Maternity Cover)
  • Provincial Safeguarding Advisor (Lambeth) - Anthony Clarke
  • Safeguarding Administrative Assistant (Lambeth) – Thomas Foot
  • Provincial Safeguarding Advisor (Bishopthorpe) - Anna Flower
  • Safeguarding Administrative Assistant (Bishopthorpe) – Janet Coles
  • Advisor for Survivor Engagement – Emily Denne
  • Independent Domestic and Sexual Violence Advocate (IDSVA) – Gemma Marks-Good
  • HR Adviser – Catherine Truelove
  • Policy Officer and IICSA Project Manager – Nathalie Ballard
  • Policy Developer - Colin Perkins (secondment)
  • CMS Project Manager - Martyn Burrell
  • PCR Project Manager – Donald Findlater
  • Projects Officer and IICSA Administrative Officer - Barbara Chapman
  • Projects Officer – Helen Todd
  • Office Manager – Emma Stradwick (temp)
  • Team PA – Lucy Ocran
  • Communications - Rachel Harden
Church of England Safeguarding Overview

Download the Church of England Safeguarding Review Document