## **GENERAL SYNOD**

## THE PORVOO DECLARATION- NEW SIGNATORIES

- 1. Following approval from the Church of England's General Synod and equivalent bodies in other Churches, the Porvoo Declaration was signed in 1996 by four Anglican Churches (the Church of England, the Church of Ireland, the Church in Wales and the Scottish Episcopal Church) and six Lutheran Churches (the Church of Iceland, the Church of Norway, the Church of Sweden, the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church, the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland and the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Lithuania).
- In 1998, two Churches already in communion with the Church of England, the Lusitanian Catholic Apostolic Evangelical Church (Portugal) and the Spanish Reformed Episcopal Church, also signed the Declaration. In 2010, the Church of Denmark, which though named in the original Declaration had not previously signed it, also did so.
- 3. In 2010, the Latvian Evangelical Lutheran Church Abroad (LELCA) and the Lutheran Church in Great Britain (LCiGB) became observers on the Porvoo Contact Group (PCG), with a view to being able to sign the Porvoo Declaration once they had fulfilled the criteria laid down by the PCG for Churches seeking membership and approved by the Porvoo Primates. Part of the background here was conversations that took place in the first decade of the new millennium between the Church of England and the Lutheran Council of Great Britain, most of whose members, other than LELCA and LCiGB, were already part of the Porvoo Communion of Churches.
- 4. The July 2008 report of the Council for Christian Unity (CCU) and the Lutheran Council of Great Britain stated '(a) that those Lutheran churches in England that are able to embrace the faith and order of the Porvoo Agreement and wish to do so, should be welcomed into the Porvoo family of churches or by other means come into a relationship of communion with the Church of England, and (b) that those churches in England that are already within the Porvoo family should, if they wish, have a more closely integrated relationship with the Church of England'.
- 5. The ecclesiology and polity of LELCA and LCiGB are along the lines of the Porvoo Agreement. They are committed to a theology of episcopacy. Their bishops are being consecrated in historic succession through the presence and participation of bishops from churches within the historic episcopate. These include Porvoo Lutheran Churches. All their priests are being episcopally ordained.
- 6. With regard to LCiGB, a relationship of communion within a shared territory raised the question of dual forms of episcopal oversight ('overlapping jurisdictions'). But that issue already arises within the Porvoo family (to look no further) and is handled by

various kinds of consultation and collaboration, especially among the bishops concerned, as an expression of their communion.

- 7. Although communion is premised on shared faith and order, Anglicans do not expect other churches to become exactly like them in order to enter into communion. Porvoo is just one example; there are also others, such as the Old Catholic Churches of the Union of Utrecht, the Mar Thoma of India and the Philippine Independent Church (also present in the British Isles).
- 8. Both LELCA and LCiGB have fulfilled the requirements put in place by PCG and approved by the Porvoo Primates. The requirements took into account the Church of Denmark experience of being observers with the intentionality of signing the Porvoo Declaration. The duration of an observer status is about four years, requiring some considerable commitment.
- 9. At the Porvoo Primates meeting in Reykjavik, Iceland, from 20-22 October 2013, the Primates unanimously agreed to LELCA and LCiGB becoming full members of the Communion of Porvoo Churches. The Archbishop of Canterbury's statement at the Reykjavik meeting that he and the Archbishop of York would regard LELCA and LCiGB as churches in communion with the Church of England was made on the basis of the decision taken by the Synod in July 1995. CCU welcomed the inclusion of LELCA and LCiGB as full members on 27 November 2013.
- 10. On 19 September 2014, during the celebration of the Eucharist, both churches signed an appropriate statement and joined the Communion of Porvoo Churches on the basis of their common understanding of the nature and purpose of the Church, their fundamental agreement in faith and their agreement on episcopacy in the service of the apostolicity of the Church, contained in Chapters II-IV of The Porvoo Common Statement. LELCA and LCiGB furthermore accepted the acknowledgements and commitments set out in the Porvoo Declaration.
- 11. Those who signed were Archbishop Elmars Ernsts Rozitis (LELCA) and Bishop Martin Lind (LCiGB). The witnesses were the Archbishop of York and the Presiding Bishop of Norway along with the co-chairs of the Porvoo Contact Group, the Archbishop of Dublin and the Presiding Bishop of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Denmark.
- 12. The Archbishops have subsequently made a determination under section 6 of the Overseas and Other Clergy (Ministry and Ordination) Measure 1967 formally declaring both LELCA and LCiGB to be in communion with the Church of England for the purposes of the Measure.

✤ Donald Petriburg:
Chair, Council for Christian Unity
17 October 2014