GENERAL SYNOD

Appointments to the Archbishops' Council

1. Up to six members of the Archbishops' Council are appointed under the provisions of section 1(2) of Schedule 1 to the National Institutions Measure 1998. Appointments are made by the Archbishops, subject to the approval of the Synod. The appointed members are currently:

Philip Fletcher (until 31 December 2016)
The Revd Dr Rosalyn Murphy (until 31 December 2016)
Rebecca Salter (until 28 February 2017)
Mary Chapman (until 31 December 2017)
Canon John Spence (until 30 September 2018)
Matthew Frost (until 31 July 2020)

- 2. Members appointed to the Council may serve for a maximum of ten years.
- 3. Philip Fletcher leaves the Council after ten years at the end of this year the last five years as Chair of Mission and Public Affairs and the Archbishops intend to bring the name of a successor to the Synod in February (it had been hoped to bring a proposal this July, but it has not proved possible to complete the process on this timescale).
- 4. Rosalyn Murphy's current term of appointment ends on 31 December this year and that of Rebecca Salter on 28 February next year. The Archbishops wish to re-appoint both for a further period, subject to the approval of the Synod: Rosalyn Murphy for a term ending on 31 December 2019 (which would bring Dr Murphy to the maximum ten years) and Rebecca Salter for a term ending on 28 February 2019 (which would bring her term of office on the Council to seven years).

Rosalyn Murphy

- 5. Rosalyn is Vicar of St Thomas's Church, Blackpool, where she has been since 2008 and was a curate in Durham from 2005 to 2008. Prior to ordination she was a teaching assistant to the Dean of Religious Studies at Virginia Commonwealth University & Medical College, Richmond, Virginia; Lecturer in Bible as Literature at Virginia Commonwealth University; Senior Vice President Marketing & Fund Development, Metropolitan Richmond Chamber of Commerce; Vice President Government & Aviation Accounts, Public Relations Operations Inc, Richmond, Virginia and Public Information Officer, Milwaukee County Airports Division, Wisconsin.
- 6. Rosalyn has a BA in Communications from Marquette University, Milwaukee; an MA in Divinity from Union Theological Seminary, Richmond; MA in Theology, Durham University and a PhD in Theology from Durham University. Rosalyn lives in Blackpool and as a black, American woman sees herself as 'inherently sensitive to the needs and concerns of those who are 'other'.
- 7. Rosalyn has been a member of the Turning Up the Volume Task Group since it was formed and is appointed by the Council to the Appointments Committee.

Rebecca Salter

- 8. Rebecca graduated from the University of Leicester in 2007 with a first degree in Biological Sciences. She has a Master's degree from Cranfield University and is a medical researcher.
- 9. Rebecca has a long and active involvement with the Church of England at parish, diocesan and national level, through her membership of her PCC, Diocesan Synod and the Church of

- England Youth Council, which she chaired for two years, and the General Synod, where she represented the CEYC for two years before she was elected its chair.
- 10. Rebecca has a deep love for the Church of England in all its manifestations, a passion to nurture and grow the Church in all areas of its mission and ministry and a breadth and depth of vision. The Archbishops are confident that the Council will benefit greatly from her passion and vision.

Recommendations

- 11. The Archbishops wish to recommend the re-appointment to the Archbishops' Council of:
 - i. The Revd Dr Rosalyn Murphy for a term ending on 31 December 2019; and
 - ii. Mrs Rebecca Salter for a term ending on 28 February 2019.

Church House Westminster SW1P 3AZ William Nye Secretary General

June 2016