Appointment of the Chair of the Business Committee

- 1. The constitution, duties and powers of the Business Committee are set out at Standing Order 115. That Standing Order specifies that the Chair of the Business Committee shall be appointed:
 - "by the Archbishops' Council after consultation with the Appointments Committee from among the six members of the Council directly elected by the General Synod; such appointment and the term of office to be subject to confirmation by resolution of the General Synod."
- 2. The House of Bishops, the House of Clergy and the House of Laity each elect two members to occupy these six places on the Archbishops' Council.
- 3. At its meeting in December 2010, the Council noted the timetable for elections meant that the full list of names would not be known until shortly before the Synod. It therefore agreed to delegate the responsibility for this and certain other appointments to the Archbishop of York, the Chair of the House of Clergy (the Ven Christine Hardman) and the Chair of the House of Laity (Dr Philip Giddings).
- 4. The group met yesterday, as did the Appointments Committee. The conclusion is that, subject to confirmation by the Synod, the Rt Revd Trevor Willmott, Bishop of Dover should be the new chair of the Business Committee.
- 5. Bishop Trevor served as an elected member of the Business Committee for the whole of the 2005-2010 quinquennium and has been its Acting Chair since September.

Church House Westminster, SW1P 3AZ 8 February 2010