## **GENERAL SYNOD**

## CONSTITUTION OF THE LEGAL ADVISORY COMMISSION

The Legal Advisory Commission of the General Synod has existed since 1923 (as the Legal Board of the Church Assembly prior to 1970). The Standing Orders of the General Synod were recently amended to make express provision for the establishment and constitution of a number of Commissions of the General Synod. Standing Order 121 now provides for there to be Commissions of the Synod, including a Commission to be known as the Legal Advisory Commission. The purposes and membership of the Commission are required to be specified in a constitution approved by the Synod. Standing Order 121(c) makes more detailed provision as to what such a constitution must or may contain.

The constitution (GS 1829), prepared by the Legal Advisory Commission, is accordingly laid before the General Synod for approval.

A list of the members of the Legal Advisory Commission for the current quinquennium appears overleaf.

The Reverend and Worshipful Dr Rupert Bursell QC Chairman

June 2011

## MEMBERSHIP OF THE LEGAL ADVISORY COMMISSION 2010-15

Ex officio members

The Right Worshipful Charles George QC (Dean of the Arches and Auditor)

The Right Worshipful Timothy Briden (Vicar-General of Canterbury)

The Right Worshipful Peter Collier QC (His Honour Judge Peter Collier QC) (Vicar-General of York)

The Reverend Canon John Rees (Provincial Registrar of Canterbury) (Vice-Chairman)

Mr Lionel Lennox (Provincial Registrar of York)

Mr Stephen Slack (Chief Legal Adviser to the Archbishop's Council and Official Solicitor to the Church Commissioners)

Sir Anthony Hammond KCB QC (Standing Counsel to the General Synod)

## Appointed members

The Reverend and Worshipful Dr Rupert Bursell QC (His Honour Rupert Bursell QC) (Chancellor of the Dioceses of Durham and Oxford) (Chairman)

The Worshipful Professor David McClean CBE QC DCL FBA (Chancellor of the Diocese of Sheffield)

The Worshipful Mark Hill QC (Chancellor of the Diocese of Chichester and the Diocese in Europe)

The Worshipful Sir Mark Hedley (The Honourable Mr Justice Hedley) (Chancellor of the Diocese of Liverpool)

The Worshipful Dr Charles Mynors (Chancellor of the Diocese of Worcester) The Worshipful Nigel Seed QC (His Honour Judge Seed QC) (Chancellor of the Diocese of London)

Mr Peter Beesley (Registrar of the Faculty Office and Registrar of the Dioceses of Ely, Guildford and Hereford)

Ms Jane Monks (Registrar of the Diocese of Manchester)

Mr Andrew Johnson (Registrar of the Dioceses of Winchester and Salisbury)

The Right Reverend Christopher Hill (Lord Bishop of Guildford)

The Venerable Christine Hardman (Archdeacon of Lewisham and Greenwich) (Proctor in Convocation)

The Reverend Canon Gavin Kirk (Precentor of Lincoln Cathedral) (Proctor in Convocation)

The Reverend Mark Steadman (Domestic Chaplain to the Bishop of Southwark) (Proctor in Convocation)

The Right Honourable Sir John Mummery (Lord Justice Mummery) Ms Francesca Quint (Barrister)

Mr Edward Nugee TD QC (Barrister)

Mr Robert Higham (Worcester Diocesan Secretary)