GENERAL SYNOD

Appointment of Chair of the Church of England Pensions Board

Background

- 1. Dr Jonathan Spencer was initially appointed as Chair of the Pensions Board from 1 January 2009 for a five-year term; this term was renewed for a further five years from 1 January 2014.
- 2. The appointment is pursuant to the Church of England Pensions Regulations 1997 and is made by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York acting jointly, with Synod's approval.

Process

- 3. Following the unexpected and sudden death of Bernadette Kenny, the Board's Chief Executive Officer, in October 2017, various options were considered. It was agreed to prioritise recruiting to the CEO role with immediate effect; the Archbishops of Canterbury and York were consulted and agreed to propose to the Synod that the Chair's current term be extended by a short period whilst the recruitment process for a long-term successor to Dr Spencer took place. This would allow the new CEO (John Ball) to settle into the role before the selection process commenced for the successor to Dr Spencer; Mr Ball takes up his role in July 2018.
- 4. They have therefore invited Dr Spencer to accept a further seven-month term as Chair of the Board to the end of July 2019. Subject to Synod's approval, Dr Spencer has accepted the Archbishops' invitation.
- 5. The process to recruit a successor will commence in the autumn, with final interviews taking place before Christmas. It is the intention to bring the appointment for approval to the February 2019 Group of Sessions.

Dr Jonathan Spencer CB MA DPhil

- 6. Dr Spencer graduated from Cambridge University in 1970 and completed his Doctorate in Oxford in 1974 following a period as an ICI research fellow. He joined the Department of Trade and Industry that year and then spent more than 30 years in a range of Civil Service posts, mainly in the DTI (where he was Principal Private Secretary in 1982-3) but also in the Cabinet Office and the Department for Constitutional Affairs.
- 7. Between 1991 and 2002 he held various Director and Director General posts at the Department of Trade and Industry including DTI Director, Insurance where he was responsible for leading the DTI regulatory contribution to the financial reconstruction of Lloyds of London; and Director General Resources and Services, where he was responsible for the overall financial management of the Department. His final Whitehall post from 2002 to 2005 was as Director General, Clients and Policy, at the Department of Constitutional Affairs.

- He has since undertaken public policy consultancy and a number of non-executive roles including membership of the Solicitors Regulation Authority (2006-9), the Administrative Justice & Tribunals Council (2005 - 2013), East Kent Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (2007 – 2015) and was a director of a medium-sized insurance company.
- 9. He is currently the Chair of Gibraltar's Financial Services Commission (2016 , director from 2011), a member of the Canterbury Diocese Discernment Panel and a member of his local PCC.

Recommendation

10. One of the Archbishops will move a motion inviting the Synod to approve their appointment of Dr Jonathan Spencer as Chair of the Church of England Pensions Board for a further term of seven months beginning on 1 January 2019.

William Nye Secretary General

Church House London SW1P 3AZ

June 2018 Published by the General Synod of the Church of England © The Archbishops' Council 2018