GENERAL SYNOD

DRAFT CONVOCATIONS (ELECTION TO UPPER HOUSE) RULES (AMENDMENT) RESOLUTION 2005

- 1. Amending Canon No 26, which was given Final Approval at the July 2004 group of sessions and will be promulged at the February 2005 group of sessions, will (*inter alia*) amend Canon H 3 (which regulates the composition of the Upper Houses of Convocation) so as to alter the composition of the House of Bishops by reducing from six to four the number of suffragan bishops[•] to be elected from the Province of Canterbury to the Upper House of the Convocation of that province. (The number elected from the Province of York will remain at three, as at present.)
- 2. This change to the present position was introduced into Amending Canon No 26 at the Revision Stage held at the February 2004 group of sessions. Previously, the draft Amending Canon had not made any changes to Canon H 3 which required any consequential change to the Convocations (Election to Upper House) Rules 1989 to 1994 ("the current Upper House Rules"). As a result, the draft legislation originally introduced into the Synod did not make any provision for any amendment of the current Upper House Rules.
- 3. However, the current Upper House Rules make provision (amongst other matters) for the holding of elections of suffragan bishops to the Upper Houses, in the course of which reference is made to the number of suffragans to be elected from each province. As a result of the change in the number of suffragans to be elected from the Province of Canterbury referred to above, there is accordingly a need for a consequential amendment of the current Upper House Rules.
- 4. The draft Convocations (Election to Upper House) Rules (Amendment) Resolution 2005 will therefore amend the current Upper House Rules by inserting references to the "four" suffragan

[•] Strictly, paragraph 1(c) of Canon H 3 defines the class of those who may stand for election as "suffragan bishops of the Province (other than the Bishop of Dover) and other persons in episcopal orders working in the Province who are members of the House of Bishops of that diocese."

bishops to be elected from the Province of Canterbury in place of the current references to the "six" such bishops to be so elected.

16 November 2004