## **GENERAL SYNOD**

## Chair of the Archbishops' Council's Audit Committee

- The Chair of the Audit Committee of the Archbishops' Council is appointed by the Archbishops after consultation with the Appointments Committee and subject to the approval of General Synod. Members of the Archbishops' Council or any of its other Boards, Councils or Committees, or of the Church Commissioners or the Church of England Pensions Board are not eligible for appointment as Chair of the Audit Committee.
- 2. After consulting with the Appointments Committee, the Archbishops' have asked the present Chair of the Audit Committee, Tony Hesselwood, to serve for a term of three years.
- 3. Tony Hesselwood, is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, and served as a partner in the firm of Firth Parish for almost thirty years until taking early retirement this year. Tony has been Chairman of Bradford DBF for almost twenty seven years and retired from that appointment in February 2009. He has served on the Audit Committee as the appointed member since the Committee's establishment in 1999 and as Chair for the last five years.

The Rt Revd and Rt Hon Dr Rowan Williams The Archbishop of Canterbury The Rt Revd and Rt Hon Dr John Sentamu The Archbishop of York

Church House Westminster SW1P 3AZ

June 2009