#### **GENERAL SYNOD**

## **Triennium Funding Working Group**

### Summary

This paper provides a summary of work that will be carried out in the first half of 2019 to develop funding plans for the 2020-2022 triennium, with a particular focus on how funds available from the Church Commissioners should be best used to support the mission and ministry of the Church.

The Archbishops have approved the formation of a Triennium Funding Working Group which will include members from the House of Bishops, Archbishops' Council and Church Commissioners. This Group has been tasked with examining options for the use of national Church funds, including distributions from the Church Commissioners' funds, for the period 2020-22, taking into account guidance already given on priorities by the House of Bishops. The Group will make recommendations to the House of Bishops, the Board of the Church Commissioners and to the Archbishops' Council, for each body to take into account in exercising its responsibilities in determining distributions and the use of national Church funds for this period.

This paper sets out the Terms of Reference and membership of the Group, the funding requests and priorities it will need to consider and sets out the key timelines.

#### Church Commissioners' triennial actuarial review

- 1. Work has begun on the triennial actuarial review of the Church Commissioners' fund as at the end of 2018. Having regard to advice from their independent actuaries, Hymans Robertson LLP, the Commissioners' Assets Committee will determine the sums that are expected to be available for distribution in 2020-2022.
- 2. Spending plans for this period will be developed and, in line with the National Institutions Measure 1998, the Church Commissioners will consult the Archbishops' Council before making the determination and shall have regard to any proposals made by the Council.

# **Triennium Funding Working Group**

- 3. In recent triennia, recommended spending plans have been developed by a Spending Plans Task Group whose membership has included members of the House of Bishops, Archbishops' Council and Church Commissioners' Board. This Group ceased to exist at the end of 2016 when the Council's Strategic Investment Board was formed.
- 4. To undertake similar work for the 2020-2022 triennium, the Archbishops have recently approved the formation of a time limited Triennium Funding Working Group. This Group will meet during the first half of 2019 under the Terms of Reference set out overleaf. In its work the Group will be mindful that House of Bishops has indicated that the three main priorities for distributions in 2020-2022 should be Funding Ministry Growth, Strategic Development Funding and Lowest Income Community Funding.

"To examine options for the use of funds of the national Church, including distributions from the Church Commissioners' funds, for the period 2020-2022 (taking account of implications for subsequent triennia), in the light of priorities identified by the House of Bishops;

and to make recommendations to the House of Bishops, the Board of the Church Commissioners and to the Archbishops' Council, for each body to take into account in exercising its responsibilities in determining distributions and the use of national Church funds for this period.

The working group should bear in mind the quinquennial aims of the Church of England and the Five Marks of Mission of the Anglican Communion and must use all possible efforts to achieve unanimous recommendations that contribute clearly to the achievement of both the above statements of value and objective bearing in mind the state of the nation and the divine call on the church to proclaim the good news of Jesus Christ in each generation.

The recommendations made by the working group are without prejudice to the duty of trustee bodies to exercise their own judgement in carrying out their legal responsibilities."

5. The Group's membership is drawn from the House of Bishops, Archbishops' Council and Church Commissioners' Board:

Rt Revd David Walker, Bishop of Manchester and Church Commissioner

Rt Revd Sarah Mullally, Bishop of London

Rt Revd Stephen Conway, Bishop of Ely and Archbishops' Council member

Rt Revd Martin Seeley, Bishop of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich and Archbishops' Council member

Rt Revd Julian Henderson, Bishop of Blackburn

Very Revd Stephen Lake, Dean of Gloucester and Church Commissioner

Loretta Minghella, First Church Estates Commissioner and member of the Archbishops'

Dr Eve Poole, Third Church Estates Commission

Graham Oldroyd, Church Commissioner

Canon Jamie Harrison, Archbishops' Council

Canon John Spence, Archbishops' Council

William Nye, Secretary General, Archbishops Council and Secretary to the House of **Bishops** 

Andrew Brown, Secretary, Church Commissioners

January 2019

Published by the General Synod of the Church of England © The Archbishops' Council 2019