## **GENERAL SYNOD**

### **JULY GROUP OF SESSIONS 2019**

#### **NINTH NOTICE PAPER**

# **Ethical Investment Advisory Group Announces New Secretary**

The Ethical Investment Group (EIAG is pleased to announce the appointment of its new Secretary, Anna McDonald, who will take up the position in mid-September.

Anna joins the EIAG from Barclays Plc where she was Head of Corporate Banking in the Eastern region, leading client engagement particularly on sustainable investing and green banking. Prior to this role she worked in global syndications and trading at BNP Paribas.

The appointment follows a trustee led review of the EIAG which resulted in a newly formed EIAG; the new EIAG met for the first time in March 2019.

The EIAG will be holding a fringe meeting on Monday, 8<sup>th</sup> July at 1.15pm in Room SLB/003 chaired by the Bishop of Manchester.

## **Frequently Asked Questions**

## What is the EIAG?

The EIAG, founded in 1997 in the wake of the "Bishop of Oxford Judgment" on the fiduciary duties of Charity trustees, is one of the oldest advisory committees on ethical investment in the world. The EIAG Advises the three Church of England National Investing Bodies (the Church Commissioners, the

Church of England Pensions Board and the CBF Church of England Funds (managed by CCLA), who together have an AUM exceeding £12 billion.

#### What is the EIAG's role?

The EIAG provides timely and practical advice to the three National Investing Bodies (NIBs) to enable them to invest in a way that is distinctly Christian and Anglican. In particular, the EIAG's advice relates to:

- a. Assets, sectors or markets in which it would not be appropriate for the NIBs to invest
- b. Stewardship of the NIBs' investments (including voting and engagement)
- c. Relationships with managers and other investors
- d. Policy issues

## Who are the members of the EIAG?

The members of the EIAG are

- The Rt Revd Dr David WALKER (Church Commissioners)
  Bishop of Manchester, Chair of the EIAG, Deputy Chair of the Church Commissioners' Board of Governors
- Mr Alan FLETCHER (Church of England Pensions Board)
  Vice Chair of the Church of England Pensions Board and Chair of its Investment Committee.
- Mr Stan CHAN (CBF Church of England Funds)
  CBF Trustee Director and member of the Audit Committee, Director at Straits Consulting and Non Executive Director in the not-for-profit sector.
- The Revd Paula VENNELLS CBE (Independent Member)

CEO of the Post Office, Non-Executive Director of the Cabinet Office and of Morrisons PLC, Chair Designate of Imperial College NHS Trust. Ordained 2006.

Ms Barbara RIDPATH (Independent Member)

Non Executive Director in the banking sector, and Member of the Council of Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs

- Mr Kumar JACOB MBE (Independent Member)
  CEO of a private Social Purpose Company, former Vice Chair of Christian Aid.
- Mr David NUSSBAUM (Independent Member)

Chief Executive of The Elders, Non-Executive Director of Drax Group plc, and a Deputy Chair of the International Integrated Reporting Council; former Chief Executive of WWF-UK and of Transparency International."

Professor Robert SONG (Independent Member)

Professor in the Department of Theology and Religion, University of Durham, former President of the Society for the Study of Christian Ethics

Ms Faith WARD (Independent Member

Chief Responsible Investment Officer, Brunel Pension Partnership, Co-Chair of the Transition Pathway Initiative, Chair of the reporting and Assessment Advisory Committee to UNPRI.

## Who appoints the members?

The independent members of the EIAG are appointed by a Nominations Committee following an open application and interview process, and the other three members are appointed by the National Investing Bodies.

The Nominations Committee is chaired by the Chair of the EIAG (Bishop David Walker) and comprises representatives of the National Investing Bodies, the Archbishops, the Mission and Public Affairs Council, and the Archbishops' Council, plus a member nominated by the Appointments Committee of the Church of England and a representative of the ecumenical Church Investors Group.