CHURCH BUILDINGS COUNCIL

Members 1 June 2021 – 31 May 2022

This list follows Schedule 4 of the Dioceses Pastoral and Mission Measure (2007). The initial year of appointment is shown in round brackets, and diocese is shown for members of General Synod.

An* indicates members of the Statutory Advisory Committee on Closed and Closing Churches

(1) Chairman

Appointed by the Archbishops after consultation with the Appointments Committee:

Jennifer Page CBE (2019)*

Former vice-Chair of the Cathedral Fabric Committee. Previously Chief Executive of English Heritage, The Millennium Commission, Chief Executive New Millennium Experience Company. Chair of Southwark Cathedral Council and former Trustee of the National Churches Trust.

Not more than 23 other members

(2) Appointed by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York

(a) 4 members on nomination of the Secretary of State with special knowledge of or expertise in history, architecture, archaeology and aesthetics

Dr Nigel Walter (2016)*

Architect with experience of extended use of church buildings and community engagement. Co-author of *Buildings for Mission*.

Mrs Jill Channer (2016)*

Independent historic building and architectural glass consultant. Former Director of the Princes Trust and member of Salisbury Diocesan Advisory Committee and Wells Cathedral Fabric Advisory Committee.

Mr Thomas Pearson (2021)*

Associate of Arup. An IHBC-accredited architectural conservationist, designer and heritage consultant, with experience in design and conservation solutions for historic buildings.

Mr Matthew Saunders (2016)*

Former Secretary of the Ancient Monuments Society and one-time Director, Friends of Friendless Churches former Trustee, Heritage Lottery Fund. Broad experience of national policy and planning over church buildings.

(b) on nomination of the Appointments Committee, 3 members of General Synod with relevant knowledge or expertise

The Revd William Braviner (Diocese of Durham) (2018)

Disability Adviser to Durham DAC. Vicar of St Peter, Stockton-on-Tees, Co-Founder of Disability and Jesus.

Vacant

The Ven Dr Anne Dawtry (Diocese of Leeds) (2016)

Liturgist, former member of the Liturgical Commission and former Chair of the Liturgical Formation Group. Skilled in Heritage interpretation and management.

Last updated: 17 June 2021

(c) 3 persons on nomination of the Council, with relevant knowledge or expertise

Marcus Chantrey (2014)

Architect, Director of Benjamin and Beauchamp Architects Ltd. Member of the Royal Institute of British Architecture (RIBA) Advisory Group and former Assessor for the RIBA Conservation Accreditation Scheme. Member of Salisbury DAC.

Geraldine O'Farrell (2014)

Chartered Building Services Engineer, Senior Engineer at Historic England and Associate Tutor, University College of Estate Management. Council Member of the Chartered Institute of Building Services Engineers. Member of Oxford Diocesan Advisory Committee and Gloucester and Liverpool Cathedrals Fabric Advisory Committees.

Mel Allwood (2021)

Sustainability Consultant, Associate Director, Arup. Experienced in finding design interventions that optimise the environmental performance of buildings in terms of embodied carbon, material consumption and construction and operational resource use.

(d) 3 persons on nomination of an annual meeting of the Chairmen and Secretaries of the DACs

Dr Julie Banham (2016)

Secretary of Sheffield DAC and Trustee of the National Churches Trust and the Sheffield Church Burgesses Trust. Keen to change perceptions of church buildings to be places of hope, opportunity, sociability and life changing experiences.

Liz Kitch (2021)

Senior Church Buildings Officer and Secretary to the DAC, Diocese of Oxford. Previous DAC roles in Chichester and Winchester. Full member of the IHBC.

Geoffrey Hunter (2012)

Church Buildings Consultant for the Diocese of Ely and former Head of Parish Property Support for the Diocese of London. A member of the Heritage of London Trust and of the Diocese of Westminster Historic Churches Committee.

(e) 1 person on nomination of the CFCE

Michael J Dyer JP (2021)

Consultant on church building services, Chair of Southwark Cathedral Investment Sub-Committee. Former Director of Technical Services for the Electrical Contractors Association, Bursar and Company Secretary of the Cowley Fathers and Finance, Buildings and Stewardship Adviser, Diocese of London.

(f) 1 person, on the nomination of the appointments committee, with expertise in innovative use of churches and former churches, including their management and development

Henry Russell (2012)

Leader of the Post-graduate programme in Conservation of the Historic Environment at the School of Real Estate and Planning, University of Reading. Fellow of the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors. Chair of the Heritage Alliance Spatial Planning Advocacy Group and Editor of the *Journal of Architectural Conservation*.

Last updated: 17 June 2021

(g) 3 persons, on the nomination of the appointments committee, with regard to the need to include members with expertise in history, architecture, archaeology, archives, art and liturgy

John Burton (2016)

Experienced architect with a distinguished career in historic building conservation that has included being Surveyor of the Fabric to both Canterbury Cathedral and Westminster Abbey. Member of Chelmsford Diocesan Advisory Committee.

Dr David Thackray (2016)*

Former Head of Archeology for the National Trust with experience of managing buildings and archeology at a national level. Member of Gloucester Diocesan Advisory Committee and as its Archeological Adviser. Active in membership of international organizations working to ensure good standards of work in the development of historic buildings

Dr James Bettley (2013)*

Librarian, Chevening House, Kent, and Former Head of Collection Development, National Art Library, Victoria and Albert Museum. Former Chair and current member of Chelmsford Diocesan Advisory Committee. He has experience of managing national collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum and at the British Architectural Library. Author and lecturer on the built environment and historic furnishings in churches.

(3) No more than 2 co-options to reflect specialist interests not otherwise represented as the Council sees fit

The Venerable Robert Cooper (Diocese of Durham) (2018)

Archdeacon of Sunderland.

Honorary Canon of Wakefield Cathedral.

Former Vicar of Pontefract and Area Dean of Pontefract Deanery

Laura Moffat (2016)

Director of Art and Christianity Enquiry. Co-author of *Contemporary Church Architecture*. Fine art adviser to London Diocesan Advisory Committee.

(4) Three persons elected by the General Synod:

Wendy Coombey (Diocese of Hereford) (2016)

Community Partnership and Funding Officer, Diocese of Hereford. Chair of Delivering Differently in Neighbourhoods programme. Chair of Herefordshire Churches Tourism Group.

Vacant

The Revd Peter Kay (Diocese of St Albans) (2016)

Priest-in-Charge of Milton Ernest, Pavenham and Thurleigh, three rural parishes. Formerly Management Accountant for buildings and property firm, Mouchel PLC.

Last updated: 17 June 2021