Question 104

LEGAL ADVISORY COMMISSION

The current members of the Legal Advisory Commission are as follows.

1. Ex officio

The Right Worshipful Morag Ellis QC (Dean of the Arches and Auditor)

The Right Worshipful Timothy Briden (Vicar-General of Canterbury)

The Right Worshipful Peter Collier QC (Vicar-General of York)

Mr Darren Oliver (Canterbury Provincial Registrar)

Mrs Louise Connacher (York Provincial Registrar)

The Reverend Alexander McGregor (Chief Legal Adviser to the Archbishop's Council and Official Solicitor to the Church Commissioners)

Mr Christopher Packer (Legislative Counsel to the General Synod)

2. Appointed by the Appointments Committee of the Church of England

The Worshipful David Pittaway QC (*Chancellor of the Diocese of Peterborough; Deputy High Court Judge; Head of Chambers at Hailsham Chambers*)

Ms Araba Taylor (Deputy Chancellor of the Diocese of Southwark; Deputy District Judge; chancery barrister)

The Worshipful Ruth Arlow (*Chancellor of the Diocese of Salisbury; Deputy Chancellor of the Diocese of London; Chair of Clergy Discipline Tribunals; practising barrister*)

His Honour Judge David Hodge QC (*Chancellor of the Dioceses of Blackburn and Oxford; Specialist Chancery Circuit Judge; also sits in the Queen's Bench Division*)

Mr Stuart Jones (Registrar of the Dioceses of London and Norwich; practising solicitor)

Miss Cordelia Hall (Deputy Registrar, Diocese of Oxford; practising solicitor – ecclesiastical property and trusts specialist)

The Rt Revd Julian Henderson (Bishop of Blackburn)

The Ven. Douglas Dettmer, Archdeacon of Totnes (member of Legislative Reform Committee)

The Revd Paul Benfield (Formerly practised as a chancery barrister; Proctor in Convocation; until recently a parish incumbent)

Mr Robert Pearce QC (leading practitioner in charity law)

Mr Andrew Roberts (Peterborough Diocesan Secretary)

Vacancies exist for two or more current or recently retired judges of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal or High Court, one or more senior practitioners in public and administrative law or other areas of law relevant to the Commission's work, one chancellor and one diocesan registrar.

The Commission is expected to meet on the first day of Michaelmas Term, Monday 3rd October.