GENERAL SYNOD

NOVEMBER GROUP OF SESSIONS 2023

FOURTH NOTICE PAPER

WELCOME TO NEW MEMBERS AND ANGLICAN COMMUNION GUESTS

New Members

The following people have become Members of General Synod since July 2023:

The Revd Sue Rose, Diocese of Bath and Wells, replacing The Revd Simon Robinson

The Revd James McCluskey, Diocese of Chelmsford, replacing The Revd Andy Sachs

The Revd Tuomas Mäkipää, Diocese in Europe, replacing The Revd Canon Smitha Prasadam

The Revd Richard Seabrook, Diocese in Europe, replacing The Revd Dale Hanson

Mrs Carys Puleston, Diocese of Exeter, replacing Mrs Georgia Mutton

The Revd Canon Andrew Norman, Diocese of Leeds, replacing The Revd Che Seabourne

The Revd Christopher Johnson, Diocese of Leicester, replacing The Revd Wendy Dalrymple

The Revd Dan Leathers, Diocese of Liverpool, replacing The Revd Jack Shepherd

The Revd Adrian Clarke, Diocese of London, replacing The Revd Fiona Jack

The Revd Jonathan Macy, Diocese of Southwark, replacing The Revd Canon Tim Goode

Mrs Alianore Smith, Diocese of Southwark, replacing Mr Carl Hughes

Professor Peter Harris, Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham, replacing Mr Gavin Drake

The Revd William Harwood, Diocese of Truro, replacing The Revd Canon Anne Brown

The Revd Jeffrey Terry, Diocese of Truro, replacing The Revd Ian Gulland

ANGLICAN COMMUNION GUESTS

The following Anglican Communion Guests will be attending the November 2023 group of sessions.

The Right Reverend Kay Maree Goldsworthy AO Archbishop of the Anglican Diocese of Perth

Archbishop Kay was born in Melbourne. She was made Deaconess in 1984 and ordained Deacon in 1986. She was among the first women in Australia to be ordained to the priesthood by Archbishop Peter Carnley in 1992.

Consecrated bishop in 2008, Kay was Assistant Bishop in Perth before being elected as diocesan bishop of the Diocese of Gippsland in 2014.

In 2017 Bishop Kay was elected as the Eight Archbishop of Perth and Metropolitan of the Province of Western Australia. On 10 February 2018 was installed as the first female archbishop in the Anglican Church of Australia.

Archbishop Kay was appointed an Officer of the Order of the Australia in 2017 and elected a Fellow of Trinity College, Melbourne, in May 2022.

The Most Revd Albert Chana, Archbishop of Central Africa He was born in Kitwe, Zambia. After secondary school worked in various industries and lived in Religious Community as a Franiscan friar for some time in Zimbabwe.

Trained at Bishop Gaul Theological college Zimbabwe for his priestly formation and did his undergraduate at the University of Zimbabwe. His post graduate studies in applied community studies were at the University of Birmingham UK. He has an Honorary Doctorate.

He has worked as a priest in various parishes in Zambia and worked as Provincial Secretary for the Province of Central Africa. He was Bishop of Northern Zambia for 20 years before translating to the diocese of Lusaka where he is currently serving as Diocesan Bishop. Also currently serving as Archbishop of Central Africa, and this is his 16th year in the Arch-Episcopal ministry.

He has worked with Lambeth Palace on peace mission to South Sudan in his role as Council of Anglican Provinces in Africa (CAPA) Chairperson.

Current Chairperson the Anglican Alliance Board of Trustees and current Co-Chairperson of African Council for Religious leaders, Religions for Peace based in Nairobi, Kenya.

The Right Revd Anthony Poggo is the Secretary General of the Anglican Communion, where he leads the staff team at the Anglican Communion Office, the international secretariat, in serving the four "Instruments of Communion".

Bishop Anthony was born in what is now South Sudan, his family had to move to Uganda to flee the first Sudanese Civil War, returning to South Sudan when he was 9. He was ordained a Deacon in 1995 and a Priest in 1996. In 2007 he was elected Bishop of Kajo-Keji, a position he held until 2016 when he moved to Lambeth Palace to support the Archbishop

of Canterbury, Justin Welby, as his Adviser on Anglican Communion Affairs, a position he held until 2022. He was appointed as Secretary General of the Anglican Communion from 1 September 2022.