The National Church Governance Project Board was established in January 2022 to take forward the work of the Governance Review Group.

In February 2022, General Synod passed a motion that enabled the Board to start its work. The primary purpose of the National Church Governance Project Board is to develop and deliver agreement on the GRG proposals for change to the governance and structure of the National Church Institutions.

Once agreed, the governance reform workstream is responsible for the implementation of the selected proposals. The National Church Project Board is accountable to the existing NCI trustee bodies affected: the Archbishops’ Council and the Church Commissioners Board, via the Emerging Church Steering Group.

Please send any comments or questions to [email protected].

Read the latest update from the National Church Governance Project Board (February 2023)

Previous reports from the Project Board and other supporting and background information can be found on this page: National Church Governance Project  - Supporting Documents

Members of the National Church Governance Project Board 

Rt Hon Sir David Lidington - (Chair)
Bishop Andrew Watson - Lead Bishop for Governance Reform
Alan Smith (First Church Estates Commissioner)
Alison Coulter (Member of General Synod)
Mary Chapman (Former Member of General Synod)
The Venerable Simon Fisher
Dr Jamie Harrison (Chair of the House of Laity, General Synod)
The Rev. Canon Flora Winfield

Source URL: