Working Together Internationally

Engaging with other Churches in Europe

Many of our activities in Europe are focused on:

  • Linking with Churches through the Diocese in Europe

  • Having an ongoing membership of the Conference of European Churches

  • Developing informal conversations with new Churches across the continent.

  • Creating and maintaining formal agreements with partner Churches including:

The Porvoo Agreement

Signed in 1996, the Porvoo Agreement commits us to sharing a common life in mission and service with a number of Lutheran and Anglican Churches who are in communion with one another.

Learn more

The Meissen Agreement

Signed in 1991, the Meissen Agreements commits us to journey towards greater unity and closer fellowship. This is a formal relationship between the Evangelical Church in Germany and the Church of England.

Learn more

The Reuilly Declaration

Signed in 2001 in Canterbury and Paris, the Reuilly Declaration commits us to worship, witness and service together with French Protestant Churches (Lutheran and Reformed).

Learn more

Engaging with Churches around the world

  • We engage with Churches around the world, through ecumenical organisations such as the World Council of Churches and national Councils of Churches, and through the global ministry of the Archbishop of Canterbury.

  • The Archbishop of Canterbury’s ministry includes representing the worldwide Anglican Communion in its relationships with other Churches at local, national and international level.

  • We are a member of the World Council of Churches, which says the purpose of the fellowship of member churches “is to call one another to visible unity in one faith and in one Eucharistic fellowship, expressed in worship and common life in Christ, through witness and service to the world, and to advance towards that unity in order that the world may believe".

Anglican Communion

Global family of Anglican Churches whose links include their relationship to the Archbishop of Canterbury.


a) the sacramental sharing of bread and wine by the faithful, following the example given in the Last Supper of Christ with his disciples; b) a service in which Holy Communion is received.

General Synod

The 'Parliament' of the Church of England. The General Synod usually meets twice a year to debate and discuss matters of interest and to consider and approve amendments to Church legislation.


Leading bishop with authority for a province. There are two provinces and therefore two Archbishops in England – Canterbury and York.


An ancient name (from the Greek word for 'thanksgiving') widely used today for the service that is otherwise known as the Holy Communion, the Lord's Supper or Mass. 

Source URL: