Ex officio

C 1-justinwelby C 2-johnsentamu

Most Revd and Right Honourable Justin Welby

Archbishop of Canterbury

Most Revd and Right Honourable John Sentamu

Archbishop of York


Appointed by Her Majesty the Queen

C 3-andreaswhittamsmith C 4-carolinespelman

Sir Andreas Whittam Smith, CBE

First Church Estates Commissioner

Rt Hon Caroline Spelman MP

Second Church Estates Commissioner


Appointed by the Archbishop of Canterbury

C 5-andrewmackie

Andrew Mackie

Third Church Estates Commissioner


Elected by the General Synod

  C 7-davidwalker C 9-martinwarner C 10-bobbaker2

From 1 April Rt Revd Christine Hardman

Bishop of Newcastle

Rt Revd David Walker

Bishop of Manchester

Rt Revd Dr Martin Warner

Bishop of Chichester

The Revd Canon Bob Baker

C 11-amandafairclough C 12-stephentrott C 13-aprilalexander C 14-peterbruinvels

The Revd Amanda Fairclough

The Revd Stephen Trott

April Alexander

Canon Peter Bruinvels

C 15-gavinoldham C 16-jacobvince

Gavin Oldham

Jacob Vince



Elected by the Deans

C 17-jonathangreener C -stephenlake

Very Revd Jonathan Greener

Dean of Wakefield

Very Revd Stephen Lake

Dean of Gloucester


Nominated by Her Majesty the Queen

C 19-harryhart C 20-ianwatmore C 21-duncanowen

Harry Hart

Ian Watmore

Duncan Owen


Nominated by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York

C 22-jeremyclack C 23-markwooley C 24-hywelreesjones

William Featherby QC

Jeremy Clack

Mark Woolley

Hywel Rees-Jones

C 25-poppyallonby C 26-grahamoldroyd  

Poppy Allonby

Graham Oldroyd


State Office Holders

Ex officio:

  • First Lord of the Treasury (Prime Minister)
  • Lord President of the Council
  • Lord Chancellor
  • Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Speaker of the House of Commons
  • Lord Speaker

Find Your Local Church


Use this popular website for service times, seasonal events, contact details and more