The Church Commissioners are supported by a professional staff team.

We directly employ around 160 administrative staff, some of whom provide services (e.g. IT, finance and office services) to the other central Church bodies. Under these shared service arrangements we receive legal, HR and internal audit services.


Staff -andrewbrown Staff -tomjoy Staff -iantheodoreson Staff -philipjames

Andrew Brown

Secretary and Chief Executive

Tom Joy

Director of Investments

Ian Theodoreson

Chief Finance Officer

Philip James

Head of Resource Strategy and Development

Staff -josephcannon Staff -edwardmason Staff -paullewis Staff -declankelly

Joseph Cannon

Chief Surveyor

Edward Mason

Head of Responsible Investment

Paul Lewis

Pastoral and Closed Churches Secretary and Bishoprics and Cathedrals Secretary

Declan Kelly

Director of Libraries, Archives and Information Services

Staff -stephenslack Staff -yasminthompson    

Stephen Slack

Official Solicitor

Yasmin Thompson

Head of IT



Find Your Local Church


Use this popular website for service times, seasonal events, contact details and more