Convocations of Canterbury and York

The Convocations are assemblies consisting of bishops and clergy of the two provinces. They pre-date the General Synod (and its predecessor, the Church Assembly) by several centuries. When the General Synod was created in 1970, it took on most of their functions, but the Convocations still meet on a very occasional basis to consider matters of particular concern to clergy (e.g. in relation to their professional conduct prior to guidelines being issued in 2015). They consist of an Upper House – made up of members of the General Synod’s House of Bishops – and a Lower House made up of the members of the General Synod’s House of Clergy, each from the respective province. The Chair of the respective provincial House of Clergy is known as the Prolocutor.

Further details can be obtained from the Synod Office - please use Contact Form at the foot of the page for any enquiries.


Convocation of Canterbury

President: Most Revd and Rt Hon Dr Justin Welby (Archbishop of Canterbury)

Prolocutor of the Lower House: The Revd Canon Simon Butler

Pro-Prolocutors: The Revd Prebendary Stephen Lynas

The Revd Jane Morris

Other members of the Standing Committee of the Lower House:

The Revd Prebendary Simon Cawdell

The Revd Zoe Heming

The Revd Julian Hollywell

The Revd Prebendary Sarah Schofield

The Revd Stephen Trott

Registrar: Mr Stephen Slack

Synodical Secretary: The Revd Stephen Trott

Ostarius: Mr Clive McCleester

Convocation of York

President: Most Revd and Rt Hon Dr John Sentamu (Archbishop of York)

Prolocutor of the Lower House: The Ven Cherry Vann

Deputy Prolocutors: The Ven Paul Ayers

The Revd Paul Benfield

Assessors for the Upper House:

The Rt Revd Dr Peter Forster (Bishop of Chester)

The Rt Revd Paul Butler (The Bishop of Durham)

Assessors for the Lower House:

The Revd Canon Paul Cartwright

The Revd Canon Ruth Crossley

The Revd Jacqueline Doyle-Brett

The Revd Canon Joyce Jones

The Revd Dr Ian Paul

The Ven Peter Spiers

The Revd Canon Dr Dagmar Winter

Registrar: Mrs Louise Connacher

Synodal Secretary: The Revd Paul Benfield

  • 1 Current: Start
  • 2 Preview
  • 3 Complete
Page 1 of 3 (0%)
Indicates required field
Please select from the dropdown 
2 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
By answering this question you are helping to prevent junk mail being sent through our website.