Safeguarding Governance

Each of the Church of England's 42 dioceses has a professionally qualified safeguarding officer/team and are the first point of contact for any concerns or queries in their area. See the national map which has links to relevant contacts in your diocese.

The information below outlines the national structures and roles supporting safeguarding and providing scrutiny.

Lead safeguarding bishops

National Safeguarding Steering Group

The National Safeguarding Steering Group (NSSG), established by the Archbishops, has strategic oversight of national safeguarding activity. Its membership consists of a range of representatives from across the Church. The activities of the NSSG and membership are set out in its Terms of Reference.

National Safeguarding Programme - key safeguarding national workstreams

Independence and safeguarding 

The Church is currently responding to two important safeguarding reports looking at ways forward on independence (including external scrutiny) and reflecting on lessons learnt on the former Independent Safeguarding Board, ISB.

National Safeguarding Panel

The National Safeguarding Panel (NSP) was set up in 2014 to resource the Church of England's leadership with high level strategic advice and to offer guidance on policies and practice in safeguarding. The panel was independently chaired by Meg Munn who resigned from the role in June 2023. In November 2023 an interim chair and vice chair were appointed

Blogs and other news

National Safeguarding Team

The National Safeguarding Team (NST) manages complex safeguarding cases (involving a number of dioceses) and those relating to senior clergy including bishops and deans. The NST is also responsible for leading on House of Bishops policy and practice guidance, and developing safeguarding training.

  • Director of Safeguarding - Alexander Kubeyinje
  • Deputy Director, Development - Julie O'Hara
  • Deputy Director, Strategy and Casework - Zena Marshall
  • Deputy Director, Partnerships - Nathalie Ballard

The National Safeguarding Team can be contacted at [email protected]. Read the complaints handling policy and procedure for the NCIs and associated privacy notice.