Crown Nominations Commission

The Crown Nominations Commission (CNC) was formed in 1974 (as the Crown Appointments Committee) when the Prime Minister agreed to the creation of the Commission as a means of supplying the Prime Minister with the names of candidates.

The CNC operates within a framework provided by General Synod Standing Orders.

Membership of the Crown Nominations Commission


The current Central Members of the Commission started their service in September 2017. Each CNC consists of the Presidents ex-officio of General Synod; three members elected by and from the House of Clergy of General Synod; three members elected by and from the House of Laity of General Synod; and six members elected by the Vacancy in See Committee of the diocese in which, in addition to these fourteen voting members, there are two non-voting members – the Prime Minister’s Secretary for Appointments ex officio; and the Archbishops’ Secretary for Appointments ex-officio. The full membership of the CNC has a broad reach across the Church.

Presidents ex-officio 
House of Clergy Reps
House of Laity Reps
Non-Voting Members

Replacement Members


Diocesan Representatives

The Archbishops and the six Central Members have been joined by 54 Diocesan representatives between 2017-March 2020.


Vacant Sees Considered and Nominations Made
Summary of a Crown Nominations Process
House of Clergy

The House of Clergy is made up of the Lower House of the Convocation of Canterbury and the Lower House of the Convocation of York joined into one House. It consists of clergy (other than bishops) who have been elected, appointed or chosen in accordance with Canon H 2 and the rules made under it (including deans, proctors from the dioceses, forces and university constituencies, and clerical members of religious communities) together with ex officio members and up to five co-opted members.

House of Bishops

A body made up of all Diocesan bishops ( as well as The Bishop of Dover who performs many of the Archbishop of Canterbury's diocesan functions); the Bishop to the Forces; seven suffragan bishops elected from among the total number of suffragan bishops and 8 regional representatives elected by and from senior women clergy.

House of Laity

The House of Laity consists of members from each diocese of the two Provinces elected by lay members of the deanery synods (or annual meetings of the chaplaincies in the case of the Diocese in Europe) or chosen by and from the lay members of religious communities, together with ex officio members.

General Synod

The 'Parliament' of the Church of England. The General Synod usually meets twice a year to debate and discuss matters of interest and to consider and approve amendments to Church legislation.

Vacancy in See Committee

A Vacancy in See Committee is required to be in existence at all times in every diocese, but it only meets when there is a vacancy in the See. It has two roles: to prepare a brief description of the diocese and a statement setting out the desired profile of the new Bishop, and to elect the diocesan representatives to the Crown Nominations Commission.