SIAMS School Inspections

Update for Schools on SIAMS Inspections 2021

A national system for managing inspections has been developed with the dioceses to ensure greater consistency in experience and processes. Read the full letter from the Chief Education Officer to schools here

Notice: SIAMS inspections will not resume until the Autumn term 2021

Following the announcement by the government on 29th March that routine Ofsted graded inspections will remain suspended until the Autumn term we can confirm that SIAMS Inspections will not resume until the Autumn term of 2021. We will be working with the Department for Education and the other section 48 providers to consider the most effective way of resuming SIAMS inspection and will be in touch with more details about this as we also introduce our new nationally integrated system for SIAMS.

Purpose and focus of SIAMS inspections

All Church of England dioceses and the Methodist Church use the Church of England Education Office's framework for the Statutory Inspection of Anglican and Methodist Schools (SIAMS) under Section 48 of the Education Act 2005.  The SIAMS Evaluation Schedule sets out the expectations for the conduct of the Statutory Inspection of Anglican, Methodist and ecumenical Schools under Section 48 of the Education Act 2005.

SIAMS inspection focuses on the impact of the Church school's Christian vision on pupils and adults. This involves looking at the school’s Christian vision, the provision the school makes because of this vision and how effective this provision is in enabling all pupils to flourish. Church schools will employ a variety of strategies and styles appropriate to, and reflective of, their particular context in order to be distinctively and effectively Christian in their character and ethos. SIAMS inspectors therefore do not look for a set template of what a Church school should be like, but rather take the particular context of the school into account and base their evaluation on the outcomes rather than the process.

The Evaluation Schedule has one inspection question: how effective is the school’s distinctive Christian vision, established and promoted by leadership at all levels, in enabling pupils and adults to flourish?

This is explored through seven strands:

  • Vision and Leadership
  • Wisdom, Knowledge and Skills
  • Character Development: Hope, Aspiration and Courageous Advocacy
  • Community and Living Well Together
  • Dignity and Respect
  • The impact of collective worship
  • The effectiveness of religious education 

One overall grade is awarded reflecting the contribution of these strands to the flourishing of pupils and adults in a Church school. In addition a standalone grade is awarded in all schools for collective worship and in voluntary aided (VA) schools and former VA schools for religious education (RE). This grade is based on teaching and learning alone.

For more information about the processes, policies and protocols of SIAMS in your area please contact your local diocese

Inspector Training

New Inspector Training
Critical Reader Training
Ongoing Training for current inspectors

Main administrative and pastoral area in the Church of England – often roughly coincides with local county boundaries. There are 42 dioceses.