The Church Commissioners

LogoThe Church Commissioners support the work and mission of the Church of England across the country.

We manage an investment fund of £7 billion, distributing £218.5 million in 2015. We are the third largest UK charitable giver and the 14th largest globally according to research by City AM.

Our investment policy is to hold a diversified portfolio of investments across a broad range of asset classes consistent with our ethical guidelines. Our ongoing responsibilities include:

  • Supporting dioceses with fewer resources with ministry costs
  • Providing funds to support mission activities
  • Paying for bishops' ministry and some cathedral costs
  • Administering the legal framework for pastoral reorganisation and settling the future of closed church buildings
  • Paying clergy pensions for service prior to 1998
  • Running the national payroll for serving and retired clergy.

Our most recent annual report, explaining some of the projects we supported and how we invested our money in 2015, can be found here.

Find Your Local Church


Use this popular website for service times, seasonal events, contact details and more