There are 33 Church Commissioners, who have trustee responsibility for meeting our charitable obligations. Six of the Commissioners hold offices of state and the other 27 make up the Board of Governors, the main policy-making body.

Working with the Church Commissioners: an exploration event

Members of the Church Commissioners are hosting a special event at Manchester Cathedral on 1 May from 17:30 as part of their efforts to attract more Global Majority Heritage/UK Minoritised Ethnic people into executive and non-executive roles.

We want to become more diverse in a number of ways, so all are welcome to attend, though there is a particular focus at this event on our keenness to attract more GMH/UKME trustees ad senior staff.

If you would like to attend, please email [email protected] by 17 April 2024.

Learn more about this exploration event.


Most Revd and Right Honourable Justin Welby
Most Revd and Right Honourable Stephen Cottrell

Appointed by the Crown

Alan Smith
Mr Andrew Selous MP

Appointed by the Archbishop of Canterbury

Revd Canon Dr Flora Winfield

Elected by the General Synod

Rt Revd Stephen Lake
Rt Revd Dr Pete Wilcox
Rt Revd Vivienne Faull
Rt Revd Graham Usher
Revd Christopher Smith
Revd Prebendary Amatu Christian-Iwuagwu
Revd Sarah Geileskey
Richard Denno
Robert Zampetti
Dr Nick Land
Dr Cathy Rhodes

Elected by the Deans

Very Revd Rogers Govender
Very Revd Mark Bonney

Nominated by the Crown

Suzanne Avery
Kif Hancock
Nigel Timmins

Nominated by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York

Busola Sodeinde
Dame Kate Barker
Remi Olu-Pitan
Morag Ellis KC
Helen Steers
Jenny Buck